We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days in heaven - a place to fall in love with” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Heartsong Retreat to your Saves list
Heartsong Retreat
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“4 days in heaven - a place to fall in love with”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We had such a great time in the most beautiful place we ever stayed. Coming from cold Berlin/Germany we found paradise at Heartsong retreat. Quiet, clean, spacious with this personal touch! We and our little son had a great time at the "Cottage" and we'll definitely come back.
- well designed rooms and garden
- only 2 minutes walk to Rocky Bay beach
- relaxing hot pool
- unique, personal and unbelievable friendly hosts

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
128
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

There is something very special about this place and the hosts. The property is beautiful, personal and unique... lovely gardens, a secluded spa pool enshrouded by trees and a boatshed with picturesque views (definitely pop down for a drink at sunset). The feeling of the property is indescribable.

Trisha's breakfasts and food recommendations were excellent too. We have already recommended this place to our family and friends and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Kereru room has a double shower with sea views, cute private deck and is just steps away from the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

"Heartsong", how do you describe this place. Beautiful, peaceful, tranquil, STUNNING..Amazing location..Trisha and Robin are incredible hosts, they exude friendship and care for their guests. The breakfast is a "must do"..fresh flavours and stunning food all created by Trisha (not to forget Robins awesome coffee). We will be back and we highly recommend this retreat and believe it is great value...Thankyou

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland central
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had a great time at Heartsong Retreat. The place is amazing, great view, warm and friendly service. It is a little paradise inside Waiheke Island. Thank you very much! Highly Reccomended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We couldn't have asked for a better one night stay on Waiheke. Trisha was fantastic in communication leading up to our first island visit (directions, travel tips, etc) and was incredibly accommadating when I asked to move my reservation.
We were both estactic upon our arrival to the retreat as the property is stunning! We stayed in the Nikau room which is a part of the main house but still very private. The room was very comfortable and clean with everything we needed to make us feel at home.
Trisha and Robin's warmth and energy made us feel like old friends. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and impressively homemade with a great deal of love. Trisha went out of her way to cater to our food and wine interests by booking us into some great food destinations. Our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The Cabana looked to be the perfect, self contained
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have just returned from another 5 days at this fantastic B&B this time taking my husband. Once again Heartsong Retreat did not disappoint. From the time we arrived until we reluctantly packed our gear both our hosts Trisha and Robin and the Island were full of surprises. This time we went to the other side of the island for a day trip and saw more vineyards, beautiful holiday and residential homes along with meeting the locals. Swapping travelling stories with other guests at breakfast was also a highlight. Holidays like this remain in our memories forever. Thank you Heartsong Retreat and we will recommend you to our friends.

Suzanne

Room Tip: All are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed in the cabana which was a self contaIned room with a kitchenette, shower, bed and a beautiful view of rocky bay.

Robin and Trisha were very welcoming hosts and we were fortunate enough to meet their friends who looked after us equally well with an ad-hoc fishing trip catching some snapper in the bay which was a real treat!

The breakfast was fresh and healthy and the coffee earns the reputation bestowed on it by previous reviewers!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
4.6 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#1 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
3.2 mi away
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
#3 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
2.5 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Waiheke Island
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 26 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
#9 of 22 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
2.4 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heartsong Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. A heated spa pool nestled in the bush provides the ideal place to soak under a canopy of stars. A private boatshed is the ideal place to watch the sun go down and guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartsong Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.