We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic oasis of tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heartsong Retreat to your Saves list
Heartsong Retreat
8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We came to Heartsong straight from Auckland airport and were so glad we hadn't opted for a first night in Auckland. The setting couldn't be more beautiful, and Trish went out of her way to ensure our stay was wonderful. We would strongly recommend Heartsong to anyone looking for a few days retreat away from it all. Beats a 5* hotel anyday.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
127
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
new plymouth
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We spent 5 nights in the Cottage for our 2nd Wedding Anniversary. Heartsong is a very special place and Trisha made us feel so very welcome. We spent many an evening down in the boatshed sipping Man O War chardonnay with candles lit..very romantic. Went fishing using the dinghy, kayaking to the little island and surrounding bays for sunbathing. Loved the hot pool , just a beautiful setting in the evening to sit in it and soak. We had a "Couples Massage" organised by Trisha outside on the balcony which was divine with hot stones used. Also had "Chef Deb" cook us a 3 course meal in the Cottage so very yummy, highly recommend her. Restaurant recommendations would be Te Whau and Cable Bay , both absolutely brilliant.Check on the markets at Ostend on Saturfay morning, well worth seeing. We will be back to stay at HeartSong ib the near future and next tine even longer !!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

We can't add much more to the detailed reviews that have gone before regarding Heartsong but we would definitely wholeheartedly recommend it as a lovely quiet and relaxed honeymoon spot.

Highlights for us included:
- a massive selection of up to date magazines to flick through, either in the hammock or down by the boatshed.
- excellent, varied and generously proportioned continental breakfasts.
- having Sammy the border collie accompany/lead us on a walk around the island.
- very helpful suggestions on where to eat (and where not to eat) on the island.
- engaging hosts who provided interesting conversations at breakfast but never intruded on our time by ourselves.

Will definitely be back at some point.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My partner and I spent one night in the guest cottage during a long weekend on Waiheke Island in Jan 2012 and rate Heartsong as one of the best B&Bs we have stayed at, hands down. It was a shame we were only able to stay one night - I would have gladly stayed longer.

The owners are lovely, gracious hosts and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. Guests have free access to a heated spa, kayaks, and boathouse by the water where you can enjoy a glass of wine at sunset overlooking the water. The views from the main house are spectacular and the setting is very peaceful. There is an option to have continental breakfast in the main house, which included a nice selection of fruit, bircher muesli, croissants, and homemade bread. The company of the hosts and other guests was quite nice and we picked up good travel tips on what to do and see on Waiheke (and in Vietnam for a trip later this year!).

The cottage itself was a spacious one bedroom with large, fully eqipped kitchen and dining area. The bed linens and bathroom were clean and the entire property was very well cared for. I appreciated the free wi-fi access and CD/DVD collection available for guest use.

I would highly recommend this property for anyone traveling to Waiheke and hope to stay here again myself.

Pros:
-Great, friendly hosts
-Beautiful location and gorgeous property
-Clean, spacious accommodation
-Good value for money, relative to other B&Bs I have stayed in NZ and Australia

Cons:
-None specifically for the property. Mosquitoes can be quite aggressive in the evenings so wear repellent or stay indoors

Room Tip: The cottage is the most spacious of the room types and seemed like good value. The other rooms, whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My parents in law treated my partner and I to a two night stay at Heartsong (they had been here before, loved it and wanted to share it with us) - this is the most enchanting place I ever stayed! The nature is beautiful, the deco is fantastic and full of surprises and everything here seem to breathe love, peace and positive intention. Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This must be the best 24 hours spent on a holiday ever. Should have been longer. With a beautiful view, beach with superb privacy, kayaks ready to use and a boathouse just longing for a wine bottle to be emptied. We also got the freshest breakfast i've ever had, where we got accompanied by a the most service minded couple. As dog-lovers it was also good to get to know Sammy, a calm Border Collie mix who sometimes joined us for a swim at the beach.

We hope to get get back sometimes in the future, then for a longer stay!
(even though it's a long way from Stavanger, Norway)
best regards
Kristine, Oda Elise and Tarjei Skarlund

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Heartsong retreat far exceeded all expectations...we only spent one night here but we felt refreshed, relaxed and revitalised upon leaving. Trisha and Robin are exactly what you want from hosts....attentive, caring, flexible and accomodating and yet unintrusive. I had some special requests for our night and nothing was a problem. We felt welcomed like old friends returning for a visit despite this being our first. The massages available on request were just what we needed and well worth the money. The food provided was hearty and delicious (highly recommend the platter with an assortment of delictable nibbles) and enabled us to not have to leave the property. I cannot speak highly enough of the location, the views, the privacy, the attention to small details....in a word our stay was blissful, nothing beats falling asleep and waking to sound of the beach lapping on the shores followed by a feast of homemade goodies. For anyone thinking of staying in Waiheke that wants peace and tranquilty, this is the place. Trisha and Robin, you have restored in a day what a crappy few months had taken from us. We will see you again in a few months hopefully. Thanks again for everything.

Room Tip: The Kereru room has the most amazing view from the shower and is close to the spa and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. A heated spa pool nestled in the bush provides the ideal place to soak under a canopy of stars. A private boatshed is the ideal place to watch the sun go down and guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartsong Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.