We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisterly Love” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heartsong Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Heartsong Retreat to your Saves list
Heartsong Retreat
8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Sisterly Love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My sister shouted me a 2 day holiday with her at Heartsong. What a stunning place in just idyllic surroundings. We enjoyed the stars from the spa, the palms from our room and particularly loved sitting in the boatshed on the waterfront eating cheeses and sipping wine while watching the moored yachts go absolutely nowhere!
Trish and Rob were superb hosts, with the ability to make everyone feel at ease and comfortable with each other at breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
Ideal for a romantic weekend - I will be back but not with my sister!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
125
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

We were absolutely blown away with our stay at Heartsong. The accommodation was beautifully presented and made the celebration of our 25th anniversary incredibly romantic and relaxing. The hosts Trisha and Robin were exceptional and made us feel incredibly special. They were refreshingly delightful and dished up the most awesome breakfasts!!
We will definitely be back and have already recommended it to our friends.
The Spa and the Boathouse offer the most romantic of settings and will make your stay very special.

Room Tip: The Cabana-separate to the main house, great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Sadly we only had one night here (and just after a wild weekend storm), so will have to return to experience the bay when the water is not rough and stirred up. The hosts Trish and Robin were exceptionally welcoming and generous even to the point of lending us their car to go out for dinner. We would throughly recommend Heartsong as a break from real life - we will return.....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Trisha and Robin have created a truly magical location with "Heartsong Retreat", and their outstanding hospitality is first class. We spent 3 amazing days at the superbly appointed "Cottage" which has beautiful views of the bay and bush. The grounds are a delight to wander through, the spa setting offers such peace and relaxation and who could forget the fantastic sunsets viewed from the Boatshed situated right on the bay.
We certainly have wonderful memories of our stay which coincided with our 50th Wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

We are writing this from the deck of Heartsong overlooking Rocky Bay. Our experience has to be five plus. We knew it would be good but couldn't have envisaged it would be as good as it is. The moment you arrive there is a feeling of welcome. We were lucky enough to enjoy the comforts of the home and all it has to offer including the best room in the house - the boat shed. Sunset on the waters edge sipping champagne after swimming in the crystal clear water. Heaven on earth.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

From the time I was picked up from the ferry by my hosts my holiday on Waiheke Island was complete. My hosts were friendly, embracing and went the extra mile to make my stay perfect. Breakfasts were fantastic and the overall standard of the property first class, with nothing left to chance. The spa area was a lovely relaxing ambience set amongst the ferns and trees, wood pigeons flying about and the waterfall into a fish pond added to the quiet relaxing atmoshpere . The beach was great for swimming with a short walk down steps from the property. The views do not get any better.

This property is unique with a relaxing embracing picturesque outlook.

I would recommend this as one of the best holiday destinations I have visited.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Trisha and Robin of Heartsong lodge B&B were so friendly and helpful. The location is superb right next to a beautiful bay. The room we had was gorgeous and the breakfast we shared on the deck overlooking the bay was fantastic. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heartsong Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heartsong Retreat

Address: 8 Omiha Road | Rocky Bay, Waiheke Island, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning property with private beach access, Heartsong Retreat is the ideal place to relax and rejuvenate. A heated spa pool nestled in the bush provides the ideal place to soak under a canopy of stars. A private boatshed is the ideal place to watch the sun go down and guests have free access to the dinghy and kayaks. Accommodation options include a gorgeous cottage set in private gardens,a self-contained cabana/studio and the comfortable Kereru and Nikau rooms with private access. A generous and delicious continental breakfast is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Heartsong Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heartsong Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.