We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to spend the day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ananda Tours

Ananda Tours
20 Seaview Rd, Waiheke Island 1240, New Zealand
09 372 7530
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Waiheke Island is just a 35 minute boat ride from Downtown Auckland. Discover Waiheke Island’s award-winning boutique wineries and locally produced gourmet delights, while enjoying an informed commentary by one of our professional, local guides. Small groups and personalised service ensure you get the most out of your Waiheke experience. Half and full day tours available.
Bend, OR
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A great way to spend the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The wine was excellent and we sent home a case. The tour itself was excellent as we learned so much about the island and NZ history from our excellent tour guide of Ananda tours (smaller group tours) The scenery was beautiful. The lunch at a winery was excellent. We enjoyed a lovely walk through an outdoor sculpture exhibit. Everything very representative of the creative New Zealand culture.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for reviewing our tour company and sharingy our great experience with other travellers and wine lovers.
Im glad that you loved the wine so much you sent a case home!!.
We have a great company which makes shipping wine home an easy. I hope that every time you open one of those bottles you are transported back to your holiday in NZ and to Waiheke Island.

Kind regards,

Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    23
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Paul was great. We visited the olive oil place and then three wineries. Paul was very knowledgeable about the island and gave us plenty of insight in to the culture as well as the nuances of the island life. I was already in love with Waiheke before the tour and after I was beyond in love with this beautiful piece of heaven on earth. Thank you Paul for a spectacular day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
From one great wine region to another.!!
One day we hope to visit California and your vineyards.
The love of wine and the country side of vineyards makes for great travelling.
Wine tourism is growing. Thanks for making it to Waiheke Island and sharing your positive experience with others.

Cheers
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had the pleasure of taking part in a Wine Country Tour recently and were blown away by the customer service Ananda Tours provided. We felt like we were there with old friends. Beautiful setting, intimate touring, knowledgable guides, great wine! Highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Great to meet passionate fellow wine tour operators form around the world.
Thanks for your trip advisor review,
and making it to Waiheke Island.
Hope you have a fantastic summer season like we have.
The whole of NZ has had a great summer and the grape harvest is making the wine makers very happy.

Look forward to 2013 Wines from NZ (particularly Waiheke Island!)

Cheers
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
“The best little wine tour on Waiheke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Previous reviews have beat me to the superlatives, but I'd like to add that our guide, Jude, did a great job of personally interacting with all the members (about 10 of us) of our tour that day and making us feel comfortable and welcome. She took us to three very different boutique wineries, Obsidian, Kennedy Point and Jurrasic Ridge, and then to one of the majors, Stoneyridge, for lunch. All in all we had a fun and memorable day thanks to Jude and Ananda Tours.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi,
So glad you enjoyed your day out on Waiheke Island withJude.
The advantage of the smaller groups is you have the opportunity to talk to others on the tour and the guide gets to know everybody more personally.
Thanks for taking the time to review the tour and for the additional photos.
Hope the rest of your holiday goes well and that you return again soon

Kind regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Wa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun Day Exploring Waiheke Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our tour guide, Jude, met us as we came off the ferry from Auckland. Jude did a great job of sharing information and insights about Waiheke Island. Each of the wineries we visited were unigue in their own way, and had ample time to enjoy the tastings and get all our questions answered. Definitely a fun tour that I would recommend to get a feel of island life on Waiheke and it's vineyards.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Hi,
Looks like you've travelled a long way to explore out Island and its wine.
Glad it was a fun day for you.
Thanks for taking the time to share your positive expereince wth others.
We are lucky to have guides like Jude who know the Island well and happy to share their passion and knowledge with people who come out on our tours.

Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ananda Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananda Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.