We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Winery tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ananda Tours

Ananda Tours
20 Seaview Rd, Waiheke Island 1240, New Zealand
09 372 7530
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Waiheke Island is just a 35 minute boat ride from Downtown Auckland. Discover Waiheke Island’s award-winning boutique wineries and locally produced gourmet delights, while enjoying an informed commentary by one of our professional, local guides. Small groups and personalised service ensure you get the most out of your Waiheke experience. Half and full day tours available.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fun Winery tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our tour of four wineries on Waiheke Island, a short ferry ride from Auckland. The guide was a local and knowledgeable about the island. In addition to visiting wineries he stopped at various spots for photos. We were dropped for lunch at a very pricey restaurant and winery, Mudbrick, which was on our own dollar. We very much wished that we had been given a choice for lunch as we would have preferred a less pricey option in town. We also wish we had been given the option of spending a little time in the town next to the ferry.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Manager at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
.


Hi,

Thanks for your review and Im happy to see you review it as fun experience.
It seems that your disappointment came from the lunch venue and lack of choice.
We are all about people choosing the vineyards they visit and their preferred lunch venue as we realise that many people have been recommended a particular restaurant and want to include this in their day out with us.

Normally our tour includes a two-hour lunch stop and this may be the village or beachside café, or, for a memorable gourmet experience, at one of our top vineyard restaurants. Most people choose a venue prior to arriving on the Island which we book for them.
If we havent receieved a request , and when the Island is particularly busy ( like now in high season) we make a tentative booking somewhere so that you dont miss out.

Should our choice not be what you desire we can easily take you somewhere else and it would have been really easy to take you to the village of Oneroa, which you mention, where there is a wide selection of cafes and restaurants.

We will remind our drivers to let everyone know the choices available.

Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    15
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Waiheke Wine Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a great day with a wonderful knowledgable guide Grant. We were collected from the ferry and given the option of where to lunch. The vineyards / winetastings were great and we throughly enjoyed our time on the island. Highly recomended! It was the first visit for my british friends and they loved the experience too!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for bringing your English friends to the Island .
Im glad you all had a great day.
With lunches, we like to give people a choice of the style of lunch they are looking for and Im glad this was your experience.
Thanks for reviewing our tours on Trip Advisor.

Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Whirlwind Waiheke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I booked this tour because I had an evening flight out of Auckland and had always wanted to visit the fabled Waiheke Island. Ananda tours had been recommended by an Auckland friend of mine so I gave them a call. Because of the tight time frames they put together a bespoke tour for my husband and me visiting wineries and an olive oil farm. After jumping off our ship in Auckland Harbour we dashed around to the Harbour Information Centre (which opens around 9) and stashed our luggage then jumped on the 9 am ferry. We were met at the wharf by NIgel who knew his lovely island backwards. After a short drive around the island with its stunning vistas every way you turned our first stop was Rangihoua Estate to taste their award winning olive oil and tour the oilery. The oils were superb and once tasted put to shame the stuff we are dished up in the supermarket. Next stop was the picturesque Obsidian winery who made a very smart cellaring red "The Obsidian" . Next stop was Stonyridge Wines where we were treated to their flagship wine Larose which was a delcious cabernet blend made it the Bordeaux style and I subsequently learned is one of New Zealand's most famous wines - delish. We had a very informative chat with the winemaker which my wine nerd husband enjoyed greatly.

Nigel dropped us off at Mudbrick for a delicious lunch and then collected us in time for the 3.00pm ferry. The day was a great introduction to Waiheke but mad us definitely want to return and spend more time. The tour was excellent and met my brief perfectly.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
It was a pleasure to arrange a tour to fit in with available time frame.
Glad to hear you'll be back.
The wine maker said he enjoyed the talk with you and your husband.When people have a passion for wine like yourselves, we try to arrange the opportunity to meet with a winemaker.
We love this type of" insider" experience ourselves when we travel, so understand the joy and fun of sharing information with like minded people.
Thanks for taking the time to share your experince on Trip Advisor.

Jenny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great van, well chosen wineries, nice driver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Spent the day on this tour of waiheke wineries. Picked us up at the ferry terminal, van comfortable, just six guests, vineyards were beautiful and wine delicious. A fun day which I would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi,
Thanks for coming to explore the vineyards on Waiheke Island with Ananda Tours.
So glad you had a great day.We are rich for choice with the number of vineyards now available and we try to match up the vineyards we visit with the guests we have out on any one day.
The more information we have about peoples tastes the better experience we can arrange for each person.
Thanks for taking he time to review on company.
Happy travelling
Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Personalized tour for our family visiting Waiheke”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

After making an enquiry on the Ananda Tours website regarding an overview of the island for our extended family Brooke was great, asking questions regarding our requirements and communicating her suggestions. Nigel collected us and took us on an hour and a half tour of the west end of the island, sharing a range of anecdotes and information while at the same time allowing us time to chat and take in the sights. Our Ananda Tour was a perfect beginning to our week on Waiheke!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandajenny, Owner at Ananda Tours, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks for organising the tour for your family and giving them the opportunity to learn more about the Island, its history, the viticulture and Island way of life.
Most people are surprised at how large and diverse the Island is.
Staying a week would have given you a good amount of time to explore and relax.
Thanks for your feedback on Trip Advisor. Very much appreciated.

Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananda Tours also viewed

Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 
Onetangi, Waiheke Island
Waiheke Island, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ananda Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ananda Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ananda Tours to your Saves list