We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfast on the Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Our weekend at this luxurious boutique hotel, with its dedicated and conscientious proprietors, and absolutely beautiful beach surroundings, was exactly what my fiance and I needed to relax and rejuvenate away from the stresses of daily life.

Breakfast on the Beach more than lives up to the image that the name invokes. One of the highlights of the trip was waking up feeling so well rested, and opening the shutters in our room to a beautiful view of Blackpool Beach. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the dining room, with huge picture windows and an unsurpassed sea view, while Keith and Marilyn took care of every aspect of our comfort.

We felt so well cared for and didn't have to worry about a thing the whole weekend. The hosts were friendly and attentive from the moment Keith picked us up from the ferry. They recommended a wonderful restaurant at a local winery for us to have dinner, made our booking and even arranged transportation for us.

I was also pleasantly surprised by the amount of extras that were included with the room. It was nice to be able to take juice from the mini-bar without worrying about the repercussions on the bill, and we enjoyed the port placed in our room in the evening. One of our highlights was using the complimentary sea kayaks to explore Blackpool Bay the next day.

We slept so well, and returned home from this weekend trip feeling as relaxed as if we had been on vacation for a week. My fiance and I intend to go back to Waiheke as frequently as possible over the years. We will always stay at Breakfast on the Beach when we do, and we recommend the same for anyone who wants a weekend of relaxation and luxury.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
105
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

An experience not to be missed. There were more outstanding aspects to this boutique hotel than we have experienced before. There were so many surprises and free delights that we were left wondering - is this a trick? We made the most of the complementary kayaks, bikes and even the golf clubs to enjoy all that the Island has to offer. Only 30 large steps from the waterfront was fantastic - one morning we slipped the kayaks out for a most enjoyable tour of the bay and hidden coves - and magnificent array of wildlife. Our hosts even prepared a picnic lunch for us to enjoy on the way round. The beach is tidal so remember that when going out for a paddle - but with it comes a whole new group of wild life - the wading birds. Excellent service and hosting all round - thank you Marilyn and Keith you made our stay one of the most memorable holidays we have ever experienced. God Bless.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

My wife and I have stayed at some outstanding boutique hotels before and this hotel/lodge met all the requirements you would expect but where Breakfast on the Beach Lodge had the edge was in the detail to service. As a luxury boutique hotel its service was the best and surpassed anything we have experienced before - the breakfasts were to die for!. Marilyn and Keith are excellent hosts and nothing is too much bother for them to organise - restaraunts, taxis, tours, transfers and even onward travel information. Waiheke is a wonderful island with much more to offer than we could squeeze in during our 2 day stay. Make sure you catch a meal at Cable Bay Vineyard - only 4min away and an excellent match in level of Service as the lodge was.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Can you get better than this? We have travelled around the world but this is the perfect place for r and r. No pressures and a beautiful Island to explore. Watch out for Keith`s car and his hat! We totally recommend this state of the art B and B.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokoroa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Keith and Marilyn treated us as King and Queen, what neat genuine people. Keith was very warm and has a great sense of humour and looked after us from start to finish. The building and surroundings are very romantic and have such a beautifull view. We are very fortunate people to have such great family and friends to give us this two night package at an awesume venue, many thanks to our "Phillip, Ceryl and Koro Viv" our hearts go out to them. We (my new wife and I) would very much recommend Breakfast on the Beach and definately recommend Ananda Tours as well, our driver/host a very friendly guy also made us feel welcome. Thanks again Keith and Marilyn you guys rock.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

We were spoiled with a lovely well thought out facility and great service. A wonderful breakfast. Very helpful professional proprietors who will attend to all your needs and make all your arrangements re tours, restaurants, taxi. Check out Ananda Tours as well. Ask for Nigel. He is fabulous. Overall we were very impressed and felt the price was very fair for the value received. A wonderful treat weekend.Highly recommended from us ( we travel regularly and can be fussy).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

To enter BOTB is to be in a little corner of heaven. The level of comfort afforded at this wonderfull Boutique Residence is of a very high level indeed. As the name implies it is almost on the beach, lovely views of the bay are seen from all the guest bedrooms.
From the initial welcome at the ferry pick up, in Keith's open top car, to the final farewell. One is cocooned in the lap of luxury. Jacuzzi in the garden, welcome canapes, free wine in the room, pre dinner drinks,beautifull imaginative breakfasts, wonderfull decor, the list is endless. All of it enhanced by Marylin and Keiths genuine desire to make your stay memorable.
Definitely the best place to stay in our 4 weeks in New Zealand, mostly in boutique residences which were all good but not as good as this one.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.