We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent! !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfast on the Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent! !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Thank you for a truly relaxing time. My wife and I enjoyed our second time staying at Breakfast on the Beach, and just like the first time it was well above our expectation. Right from the moment we arrived off the ferry we were looked after, which makes it so easy to relax. Keith and Marilyn are wonderful hosts, very knowledgeable about the island and accommodated our every need; we didn't have to book anything Marilyn took care of everything we wanted to do. What we found so special about this lodge over others on the island is the attention to detail, the wine and cheese on arrival the port at night in your room and the truly spectacular beach front view (you are actually on the beach you cant get closer). I found Breakfast on the Beach was unique to other lodges we have stayed in because it is genuine and the service makes you feel like you are the one and only guest. Keith and Marilyn have done well with this lodge and its luxurious five star facilities. Thank you for a wonderful much needed break away and we look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
J it was our pleasure to host you for your second visit. We enjoyed catching up with all your news since your last stay - you lead an exciting life and live it to the fullest - good on you. Marilyn and I certainly look forward to your next visit later this year. Warm regards Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
112
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were looking for a special and relaxing place to spend NY on Waiheke Island and we found Breakfast on the Beach from reading reviews and it exceeded our expectations.

A short drive from the ferry terminal and close to the village, it literally looks onto the beach with the most lovliest views. All rooms have sea views. Our room itself was amazing and so comfortable; large, airy and spacious with a big bed, sofa, TV and a balcony with chairs and table. We loved how it was decorated and the personal touches such as a free bottle of wine and nibbles to greet us. The non-alcoholic beverages in the fridge were complimentary and replenished. The turn down service was also much appreciated with the nightly port and chocolates. Nice touch, not what you would expect from a B&B but this isn't an ordinary B&B.

The breakfasts are worth a big mention. Simply delicious and made with love. Every morning was a delight to see what we had as it changed every day. Everything was delicious but we particularly loved the croissant filled with scrambled eggs and gravalax and the grapefruit baked / infused with cinammon and ginger (I think!)

We borrowed their bikes to ride around the island but we didn't get too far as it is really hilly! But there is a pretty coastal cycling route nearby. There's also a shipwreck nearby and as the tide goes in around 12pm and comes back out at 4-5pm, you can cycle up close to it.

Another highlight was borrowing their 2-man kayak to sea kayak right by the B&B- we just carried it to the seafront and had a paddle. A lot of fun although it was a bit choppy! But luckily we didn't capsize!

What makes this B&B even more incredible are the hosts Marilyn and Keith. They helped a lot with our planning before we even arrived - booking restaurants (especially for NYE as Marilyn advised us it would get busy), a brilliant wine tour and always very prompt in replying. You could ask them anything about the island. They even arranged drinks and nibbles in their lovely atrium for guests on NYE before everyone left for their dinner plans.

If you're looking for a B&B for that something extra, choose Breakfast on the Beach. It is a bit pricey but you're paying for luxury and a very personable service. You won't regret it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We enjoyed hosting you for your three day stay with us and it was great to see the two of you getting out to enjoy the outdoor activity available at our doorstep.
As you found it was easier to have your own car over the period to explore the more remote spots of the island. Singapore is but one flight away - so we do look forward to seeing you again. Regards Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Breakfast on the Beach in January, and had a wonderful time as always. We love Waiheke Island, and we always stay at Breakfast on the Beach due to the beautiful setting, the luxurious and relaxing atmosphere, and most of all, the gracious hosts. Keith and Marilyn are lovely and personable, and they always go out of their way to make sure our stay is perfect.

I'm always impressed by the number of facilities that are included in the price at Breakfast on the Beach, and we had a great time trying out the stand-up paddle boards, which were a new addition since our last stay. I got the hang of it immediately and paddled around the bay for hours, taking a break to swim every time the sun got too hot. My husband prefers kayaking to paddle boarding, and he even went fishing with Keith in the sea kayaks one day. He had a wonderful time paddling around the bay, even though he wasn't lucky enough to catch anything! We also used the complimentary bicycles to explore the island, and found our way to a few superb wineries (as usual).

Usually when I am on holiday, I like to explore the town and find the nicest coffee shops. However, when we come to Waiheke, I prefer to have my coffee at Breakfast on the Beach, because the setting there is even nicer than the nicest cafés in Oneroa, the town up the hill.

It is hard to go back to work after spending several days enjoying gourmet breakfasts in their luxurious dining room, looking out over the picturesque bay. We will definitely be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and it was our pleasure to host you for your second visit to the Lodge. A shame 'J' did not catch any fish on the day - evidently the snapper are a little shy of Australian visitors (that's a joke by the way!). Needless to say there will be more on your next visit. Good luck with you return to Melborne and also with your future relocation to the UK. Warm regards Keith and Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed Dec 25 and 26, 2013 at this B & B and there is always something just a little odd when, on arrival, your host declares the siren going off in the local village is the alarm advising all that the Australian's are invading. Or perhaps when you're shown to your suite that the comment is made 'best to knock first, I walked in on a couple making love just the other day' and then there's the one about the bookmark when we were leaving 'don't forget your bookmark and you see I took this photo yesterday when you two were making love'. I'm not suggesting that we don't have a sense of humour however I would suggest that these comments were not made to the two American couples, the English couple or the German couple with two small children. The accommodation itself was very nice, spacious bathroom, and nice colours with some lovely touches, like wine & cheese on arrival and port to finish the evening and of course the transfers to and from the ferry. And it was very kind of our hosts to make Christmas dinner reservations for their guests at the nearby Mudbrick Vineyard and arrange the taxi transfers. However, at $745 per night plus the quirky, slightly off humour, it was to us, just a little weird.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We very much enjoyed hosting you during your stay and trust your return to Melbourne after your NZ trip went well. It would appear my husband’s attempt at humour clearly missed the mark with you (I must add the words used were not as stated above), but we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would be pleased to host you again at some stage in the future. Regards Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Waiheke Island is a world apart from Auckland, extremely tranquil with fabulous views in all directions. Wonderful beach walks, wines to remember, and most of all, Breakfast on the Beach. Marilyn and Keith have created a most cozy, intimate haven overlooking the water. They are wonderful welcoming hosts, Keith full of great stories and Marilyn full of breakfast recipes to take home to try. In all our travels to B&B's over the years, we've never experienced such creative, visually beautiful and tasty breakfasts--really works of art. And, Marilyn's and Keith's home takes a backset to none. Do go. We spent two nights, three would have been even better.

Room Tip: All rooms are large, comfortable and face the beach. Room 5 on the second floor have a lovvely terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It was our pleasure to host you both for the two days and thank you so much for the lovely review. We thoroughly enjoy the experience of meeting new travellers and making their stay a memorable one. Hope to see you again next time you venture this way. Regards Marilyn and Keith.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife and I flew over from Sydney for a wedding on Waiheke island in September.
Keith and Marilyn were wonderful hosts for the one night we stayed (we would have loved to stay several more!)

Aside from picking us up and dropping us off at the ferry, they also drove us to the wedding itself (much appreciated).

The room is very spacious, the bed comfortable and the views over the clear waters surrounding waiheke are very tranquil and cannot be truly appreciated in photos.

Breakfast was excellent, and we felt very relaxed from the moment we arrived.

Am looking forward to a return visit in the not so distant future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review and we look forward to hosting you again - maybe for another wedding! Warm regards Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We only stayed here for one night with Keith and Marilyn and we sincerely wish we had booked for longer! Everything was more than perfect for our stay. The room was spacious and furnished so nicely and the complimentary wine, nibbles and other extras really made us feel so welcome. Keith and Marilyn are two of the most hospitable people I have ever met and both are a wealth of knowledge when it comes to anything Waiheke! The view from our room was absolutely breathtaking, looking out over the water in the morning - what a perfect way to start the day! Location was perfect, just a quick walk up to the shops. Our whole stay felt so luxurious and we came away feeling relaxed. We couldn't have asked for a better way to spend the weekend - we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you Alisha F for the kind review. We enjoyed hosting you both for your first first to Waiheke Island and we trust you will get the opportunity to visit many more times in the future and that we get the opportunity to host you again.
Next time you come we will get you out on the stand up paddle board - its easier than you think particularly out the front of the Lodge on a calm day - its like a mill pond.
Warm regards Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#1 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Waiheke Island
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#4 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
3.6 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
2.1 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
#9 of 22 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waiheke Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.