We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfast on the Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Washington DC
1 review
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I can't recommend Breakfast on the Beach highly enough. It will blow away forever any negative notions you might have about B&Bs as dingy old homes run by quirky people with cats. I don't know if Keith and Marilyn have a cat (didn't see one) but I do know that Breakfast on the Beach is brand-new and stunningly beautiful - designed from the ground up by K&M, all light, glass, space and high ceilings - - that the breakfast is fabulous, the rooms (all with full view of the beach and harbor across the road) are spacious and beautiful, and that Keith and Marilyn are the world's most delightful and attentive hosts - cocktails (great Waiheke wines) with them is like having a drink at home with old friends. Plus they'll pick you up and drop you off at the ferry terminal. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
105
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We went over to Waiheke Island intending to stay just one day,and ended up staying for three! We were lucky it was winter because I'm sure it must be booked out in summer. The units were most comfortable and with under floor heating (not just in the unit, but also under the tiles in the ensuite) We were met at the ferry by Marilyn And taken to the Lodge, after a brief stop at the main shopping area to let us have a look around at the various shops. The Lodge is very new and they are still working on planting and landscaping. All the 4 units are on the ground floor and face out to the sea. Lovely to sit inside and just watch the ocean view. The fridge was well stocked and there was complimentary cofee and tea with the coffee plunger and teapot. The large TV , CD player and DVD player plus the comfortable lounge suite gave us all the incentive to stay inside. But the walks around the beach also called. In summer there will be the added incentve of kayaks and swimming. Also on the ground floor was a communal lounge, beautifully furnished, a well stocked library, with many modern books, CD's and DVD's plus broadband internet computer. The ding room also overlooked the sea, and we had a chose of eating in our unit or in the dining room. In summer it will be lovely to sit out side.There is an outside spa pool But as we had not brought our swimming togs, Marilyn closed the shutters around it and we strolled out in the lovely dressing gowns provided,--Bliss.Both Marilyn and Keith are the friendliest hosts and always available when we wanted anything . On the 2nd day we were lucky to meet their son Richard (boy, is he tall!) And he kindly gave us a tiki tour of the Island. We were so impressed with our stay that we have already booked for another 3 days in December. Jean and Ben

Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

we really loved our 46yr wedding anniversary were my husband dave surprised me with this breakfastonthebeach waiheke island break.
we were warmly welcomed and loved our room that had a vase of red roses, & a bottle of champange what a lovely thought . we had happy hour every night served with delicous nibbles we also loved the turn-down of the bed nightly & the tray of delightful treats.we felt truly pampered our hosts marilyn and keith graham couldn't have done anymore to make us feel so...special

the breakfasts were just out of this world ,and really set us up for the day ahead.

a tremendous location, close to beach,shops, walks, wine estates & restaurants, cafes.etc.
Plenty to see and do for all tastes on beautiful waiheke island !!!!!

  • Liked — Hosts & Luxury.pampering cleanines, food and wine choices, island location beach
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

My wife and I spent a delightful long weekend as guests of Keith and Marilyn in their recently established lodge on Waiheke. Even before Keith picked us up at the wharf after the short ferry ride from Auckland Marilyn had already made bookings at the three best restaurants on the island: no need for us to even think about it. Golf: "please use our clubs and trolleys"; "oh, you liked the lavender soap in the bathroom; I have called the lavender lady to get some more for you" etc ... they could not have done a finer job of making our stay relaxed and pampered. I can't think of any facility they haven't thought of and provided. The breakfasts are stunning, but to top it all when the island had an hour or so power outage on our final morning Marilyn still managed to produce a three course breakfast using the barbecue!! I can unhesitatingly recommend BOTB to all.

  • Liked — The hospitality of the hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay Bay
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2008

Simply outstanding. Unreservedly recommended. If you want to know more, read on....
Keith and Marilyn hosted my wife and I, for our combined 50th birthdays, together with our family and friends, totalling a party of 9. Their lodge is easily 5 Star; there are no modern luxuries missing including a five person spa, with built in sound system. The lodge is packed with lots of wow factors.
We booked out the four bedrooms and although they are individually lockable, we were able to leave the rooms unlocked making the Lodge feel more like our home. All rooms have huge windows that open to panoramic seaviews, or if you must the widescreen TVs offer an alternative to nature's beauty.
We kayaked in the calm bay and watched the locals gathering cockles (shellfish) for breakfast.
Chef Debra cooked for us for our birthday dinner and what a meal, equal to any of the top restaurants and with personal service. Where else can you pop out and talk to the Chef while she cooks the Lobsters and the organic Eye Fillet steaks. Melt in your mouth stuff. The whole meal was absolutely superb.
Next morning, breakfast, their signature meal. Fruit compote, sauted potatoes, quiche and sausage was more than filling. Then came the crepes filled with peaches and maple syrup in case the appetite was not satisfied. Ha ha!
Friendly and professional, we have no doubt you will also sing their praises.

Linda and Des Howard

  • Liked — Luxury, food, and friendly service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.