We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place in a beautiful setting!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Breakfast on the Beach Lodge to your Saves list
Breakfast on the Beach Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Waiheke Island
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing place in a beautiful setting!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have travelled all over the world and our stay at breakfast on the beach is as good as it gets!
Our hosts Keith and Marilyn were unobtrusive and yet helpful and lovely. The accommodation was faultless with a high attention to detail. We felt really spoilt and relaxed and highly recommend breakfast on the beach!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you Joanne for your kind review. It was our pleasure to host you during your 5 day stay with and we look forward to the opportunity to hosting you again some time in the future.

Warm regards
Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
112
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This place was really lovely in most all ways. This is a tough review for me because everything was so lovely and our hosts took such good care of us. To be fair, i am not someone who would sleep through a fire alarm, but im not an insomniac either. The only down side to this place is that the beds were like sleeping on a cube of Jell-o. If you've ever slept on an early model waterbed you can imagine what I mean. Every single tiny minute movement my husband made ended up jiggling me awake.We tried changing the settings but that didnt help at all. I slept very badly here and as such would highly recommend some "do not disturb" type mattress before I could give a higher review. No matter how lovely the rest was, and it truly was, the "bed" in B&B is pretty important. If you stay here be sure to ask for the room with the balcony!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool-Beachbums, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Dear Maradenver,

We recall your stay with us and as with all our guests it was our pleasure to host you.
The bed in question is the same as all the other lodge rooms and is the highest quality commercial bed available. This is one of the contributing reasons we have had so many outstanding reviews on the quality of sleep. Of note a previous reviewer (‘Best Sleep ever’ dated November 30, 2011) was actually accommodated in the same room. Indeed some guests have been so impressed they have purchased the same brand of bed on returning home. We also recall that you did not comment on any problems during your stay and indeed we enquired specifically each morning how your sleep was, and do recall your favourable response. We note you have referred to ‘changing the settings’, this is not possible, for there are no setting adjustments for the bed. We note you had an extensive New Zealand tour and suspect you may have inadvertently confused us with another accommodation provider in respect to your bed comments. We would like very much to have the opportunity to discuss this with you further to verify this and if it was indeed a problem we would like the opportunity apologise appropriately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Keith and Marilyn are born hosts. From being picked up in the drop-top Sebring convertible from the Ferry, to the welcome nibbles in the room along with a half bottle of a scrumptious local red, these guys have thought of everything. In the few years they've been open, they've had 2000 guests or so, but you'd think you were the first from their enthusiasm and genuine welcome.
The rooms are spacious, the view sublime, the shower a treat - there's late night port and chocolates, turn down service if you like it and breakfasts to die for. Make sure you ask for the French toast!
We took out the double kyack and Keith gave us all the tips to make a stunning day out. Same went for the bikes - and their local knowledge is packed with detail, humour and a love of where they live. It really is a blissful spot and we can't recommend them highly enough. Thanks so much for a glorious 3 days.

Room Tip: All four rooms are blessed with the same amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for the review George. We loved your company and it is made all the easier when you can see your guests really enjoying their time with us. So yes, there are times when you really feel joy from hosting people and you two made hosting a joy. We are pleased the stay was special and that you took full advantage of all the activity on offer. We look forward to hosting you both again.

Warm regards

Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronte Park, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

My 94 year old father and I had a superb break from old routines. Both our very expansive rooms overlooked the beautiful beach - such a treat to wake in the morning to the gentle sound of the waves lapping on the shore. My father's room was just perfect. The bed was so comfortable and easily accessible to sit on, the bedside lamp also easy to reach in case he had to get up in the night. The bathroom was exceptional in its spaciousness with easy access to the shower and a rail to assist. Marilyn even provided a chair in the shower if he required it. Even the entry door was wide enough for wheelchair access! Marilyn and Keith have thought of every detail so that our stay was perfect - even to having dad's precious morning paper ready for him!
Our breakfasts were not only a visual treat but also healthy, very tasty and set us up for the day.
I would reccommend this as a special treat for elderly parents - or actually anyone wanting time out in heaven on earth!

Room Tip: All rooms equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Jenny. It was great having you and your father stay with us and to share in some of his outstanding memories in the musical field. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again next time you visit NZ. All the very best with your work back in Australia and please pass on our warm regards to Les.

Best wishes

Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

A beautiful gem hidden in a quiet ocean cove on a lovely island accessible by short ferry from Auckland. Keith and Marilyn were perfect hosts, the breakfasts were devine, and the rooms were quite spacious. Marilyn booked us a sunset supper at Cable Bay which was spectacular and a full day vineyard tour the next day which was great fun. But the best feature of all was the quality of sleep on their fantastic pillows and the massive showerhead for the perfect wake-me-up!

Quiet, peaceful, beautiful. It was worth the 10,000 km detour!

Room Tip: All the rooms are very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We do spend a lot of effort in selecting the right bedding for our guests and clearly you appreciated that effort. We trust the following wedding trip to Rarotonga went well and we wish you all the very best for your future as a married couple. Hope we get the opportunity to host you again in the future - possibly an anniversary!

Regards


Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We spent the first three nights of our honeymoon here. Relaxing and luxurious, it was the ideal place.

Hosts Keith and Marilyn are full of ideas and assistance to ensure their guests' stay is perfect. Keith took us sea kayaking at sunset and lent us bikes to explore beautiful Waiheke island, as well as giving us great recommendations (and making reservations) for local restaurants for us.

Our room was large and airy with fabulous floor to ceiling windows overlooking the bay. Discreet touches like the appearance of a decanter and complimentary chocs for our return from nights out were another element that make this place special.

A special mention goes to the sensational breakfasts - something delicious, different and inventive every morning; and to lovely Hayley who served them to us.

Breakfast on the Beach was the perfect start to a wonderful honeymoon. We felt like royalty.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
All the team at Breakfast on the Beach thank you for your kind review. We enjoyed hosting you and I know Keith loved the opportunity to take you kayaking out in what he would always refer to as' the best bay on Waiheke' . Look forward to hosting you again at some stage in the future. Regards Marilyn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We only had three days in New Zealand but loved our stay at Breakfast on the Beach. I had booked on its recommendations from Tripadvisor and was not disappointed. The breakfasts were fresh and delicious and served when it suited us. As we arrived late on Friday afternoon Marilyn had made a reservation at Cable Bay Winery and restaurant and ordered our cab. That attention to detail is evident in every aspect of the stay. The high praise is indeed justified.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breakfastonthebeach, Owner at Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. We certainly appreciate the recognition of our work and in making your stay a memorable one. Trust we will get the opportunity to host you again. Warm regards Keith & Marilyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Waiheke Island hotels
1.4 mi away
Delamore Lodge
Delamore Lodge
#1 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
1.8 mi away
Waiheke Island Resort
Waiheke Island Resort
#6 of 10 in Waiheke Island
3.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Enclosure Bay
Enclosure Bay
#1 of 27 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Te Whau Lodge
Te Whau Lodge
#4 of 10 in Waiheke Island
5.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
3.6 mi away
Onetangi Beach Apartments
2.1 mi away
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
Le Chalet Waiheke Apartments
#9 of 22 in Waiheke Island
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakfast on the Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakfast on the Beach Lodge

Address: 34 The Esplanade | Waiheke Island - Auckland, Waiheke Island 1081, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Waiheke Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Waiheke Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Waiheke Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breakfast on the Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breakfast on the Beach is a luxury waterfront boutique lodge on beautiful Waiheke Island, New Zealand - Auckland's Paradise in the Hauraki Gulf. What makes this waterfront lodge unique is its quiet setting on the bay yet close proximity to ferries, shops, restaurants, cafes and wineries. Four luxury guest rooms with large en-suites, open lounge and atrium area that look out over expansive sea views. Each room is meticulously set to cater for your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Breakfast on the Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breakfast On The Beach Hotel Waiheke Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfast on the Beach Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.