We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked all the boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Motel Picton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour View Motel Picton to your Saves list
Harbour View Motel Picton
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Picton
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Ticked all the boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We requested a top floor but was unable to secure one, however the second level was excellent - still a great view. Arrived on a cold windy wet afternoon but the welcome we received, and the studio itself soon dispelled the gloom. Lovely view, comfy bed, well equipped kitchen, great location for a walk (later when the rain stopped). Would make one gentle suggestion - change the "art work". Excellent value for money. Hope to return for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    91
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
82
417
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

My wife and I had a room on the top level. This level would be the best for views. There is a wonderful, close up view of the Picton harbour. The room was spacious, with very comfortable lounge chairs. Also, self contained for cooking etc. Easy walking distance to shops and water transport, with just a small uphill on return. Virtually no road traffic noise. We didn't see anything in Picton we thought would be better. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a top level room if available for best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My parter and I stayed here in October 2013 (sorry for the delay) and we both had a fantastic stay. The location is great and the views were amazing from our room. We had looked at a few other hotel options and so glad we chose this one. The staff were very helpful and they had lots of information on things to do in Picton and the surrounding areas which was really helpful. The rooms were very clean and the facilities offered were good. This was my third time in New Zealand and will definitely return to this little Gem when we return again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Definitely made right decision to spend 4 nights here in a unit on 3rd (top) level. Sitting on the balcony looking out over Picton snd the harbour s strongly recommended. Comfortable spacious rooms with little added extras. Make up remover sachets and towels appreciated. High standards of housekeeping at all times during my stay. As I travel by coach the courtesy shuttle is a big plus. Would I come back? - Definitely.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed 3 nights, one before our hike two after, and were very pleased with the hotel. Kim and Ian were friendly, hospitable and helpful - our booking had not gone through but Kim accepted our confirmation without a hassle. The room was well appointed, clean and had superb views over the harbour - just what we expected. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Harbour View Motel and without a doubt one of the very best motels we have ever stayed in. Our room was immaculate and spotless and the service from Ian and his staff was wonderful..
We would recommend the Harbour View to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed two nights; one before we went to Queen Charlotte, the other when we returned. High quality motel, well kitted out, comfortable and immaculately clean. We'll definitely return. We've stayed in other places in Picton & always been disappointed until now!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
15.6 mi away
Chateau Marlborough
Chateau Marlborough
#14 of 29 in Blenheim
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Motel Picton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.