We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views over the harbour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Motel Picton

Save Saved
You added Harbour View Motel Picton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Motel Picton
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Picton
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Stunning views over the harbour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We were delighted to find this gorgeous place with amazing views, right in the centre of Picton. The hosts were especially helpful (so grateful for assistance during a very long, tiring and complex trip - thanks again!). We met a couple on a bay cruise who told us they'd found a fabulous place to stay - and it turned out to be Harbour View :)

Room Tip: The higher up the hill the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    402
    71
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
58
318
16
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I stayed just one night here while I was travelling for work and thought it was one of the best motels I have stayed at in a long time. I travel a lot for work and its hard to find somewhere quiet, warm, spacious, modern and central all in one place. The hosts were great and the views are awesome looking over the harbour! I really enjoyed staying here and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Lovely spacious modern rooms. Very comfortable bed! Fabulous views and great hosts. Location is handy to the centre of town. We received helpful knowledgeable advice regarding trips to the Sounds. Had a great weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights with our 5 month old and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The service was excellent. We were provided with an easy access room, a portacot and plenty of blankets for the baby. Our room had a brilliant view and we were only a few minutes walk from the main street. Room was modern and all the mod-cons were provided. Can't recommend enough. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just had a couple of nights with the good folk at Harbour View. We had their house first night - more comfortable beds and pillows than the $200 a night hotel the night before in Wellington! Great house all round. But mainly, Ian couldn't do enough for us - picking us up - dropping us off. Excellent service - nice people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Hosts were excellent. Views of Picton were outstanding. Parking a little tight for bigger cars, but it is a hillside complex!
Just a short walk to shops and food outlets. Great room with modern amenities. Excellent heating for the winter months. Would love to have stayed longer. One of the best in the town.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lismore, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The views from the top floor of this motel are fantastic. We sat on the balcony and watched the activity in the harbour for ages. The motel is in easy walking distance of the shops and harbour. The rooms are everything you would expected from a top motel and the owners are great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
#3 Family Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Motel Picton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.