We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Motel Picton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour View Motel Picton to your Saves list
Harbour View Motel Picton
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Doorwerth, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Just Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I recently stay in this beautiful,excellent situated, friendly motel.
It was the second time in 10 years we were there. The owners are so friendly and willing to help you.
We recommand this motel to veryone who wanted to stay for one night, or more. You have the possibility of taking a nice swim in the pool on the otherside of the street, just in front of the motel.
The owners give us good advices about eating. Marvellous it was.

Room Tip: Swimmingpool in front of the motel, after 03.30PM, on the other side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    74
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
354
21
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
encinitas, CA
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our second stay at this property. It is centrally located above the town of Picton. It is clean, comfortable and has a small kitchenette. The hosts are most helpful. It is reasonably priced and the perfect place to stay before catching the ferry or as a stop over. We walked to everything in town and were very happy to just be in our room, on the balcony, enjoying the view.

Room Tip: Number 9 is by far the best choice. Swimming pool is shared with another accomodation down the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Motel is very very good, spotlessly clean and in a great location. I recommend it, but I want to note the following.

On arrival after a very fraught day (reasons not important) it was disappointing to be greated with 'When are you paying, now or in the morning?' I had paid using an online booking website and had a printed receipt in the car.'I have paid' I said 'Doesn't look like it to me' was the response. After going to the car and finding the receipt I went back to reception. The person checking me in grunted, took the printed confirmation off me and gave me a key. NO apology or pleasant banter.

I was dismayed at the indifference of me arriving as a guest and the service and care of me really went down hill when it was apparent I was sleeping in a room with a same sex partner. Nothing actually said or done - it didn't need to be.

Unfortunately homophopia is alive and well in some businesses (thankfully not all by any means) in Picton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ourzipman, Owner at Harbour View Motel Picton, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your review

Upon arrival at Harbour View Motel we do require a voucher if booked on an external site (proof of payment)

The guests were shown their room and provided with revenant info as we do with any other arriving guests

We try hard at Harbour View Motel to keep everyone happy and everyone is most welcome

cheers Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Harbor View Motel and had a wonderful stay. Rooms are studio-style and are clean and well maintained. We had a view of the harbor as advertised which was nice to wake up to each morning. The owners were super friendly and gave honest and helpful advice about local vendors. They were able to arrange all of our day trips each morning which made things super easy. We would definitely stay again and recommend to any of our friends or family members planning a trip to the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in apartment no 8, which had views to two directions (harbour and western hills). Excellent location, facilities and service - really nothing to complain, or to add to the previous reviews!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed 1 night in January 2013. Room was a standard studio, on mid-level. Finishes were quite modern, fresh and clean for a 'motel'. Shower was good - large bathroom. Bed comfortable. Nice big black reclining sofa seats with flat screen TV. Little table/chairs for 2 people.
Close walk to everything. View was nice.
Hosts were lovely.
Happily recommend to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: View from mid-level standard room was still really quite nice. If you didn't have much money, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we spent 5 wonderful days as guest at this property. the owners went out of their way to help us so many times. the room on the top floor with the balcony and the great unobstructed view of the water was amazing.the laundry facilities,barbecue,and the kitchen made our stay a relaxing and comfortable time

Room Tip: ask for the top floor witha balcony and view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Motel Picton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.