We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Motel Picton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour View Motel Picton to your Saves list
Harbour View Motel Picton
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We only had one night here but enjoyed it very much. The room was clean, welcoming and lovely, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfy and the view was beautiful. The kitchenette was well-stocked for when we decided to self-cater too. Perfect location too, close to the harbour, shops, cafes, supermarket.
Best of all, the owner kindly took our bags when we checked out in the morning and offered to drive them down to the ferryport so we could go for breakfast and a quick stroll without worrying about walking back to get them. Now that's service!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    74
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
353
21
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed on the top floor (room 10) and had a fantastic view of the harbour - there is a small balcony with a table and chairs - a good spot to enjoy a glass of wine.

The room was very comfortable and very clean. We enjoyed our very short stay and would recommend this motel - good value for money and lovely owners.

Room Tip: Stay on the top level to enjoy the view. We stayed in room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011 via mobile

Good views of the harbour, central location in Picton (15 minute walk to ferry to Wellington) and very helpful hosts (generously offered to drive my family to ferry because it was raining).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This motel offers many great things. The first and most obvious is the stunning views from the rooms across the bay at Picton. Walking through the front door of our room on every occasion was a wonderful experience as we looked straight out of the windows to the bay. The room facilities were excellent with everything available and clothes washing facilities in a separate area. The slight down side would be for the less mobile a there is a sharp incline to some rooms. That said, it is so worth the effort. The other key element here is the people factor. Lynn and Keith are most personable and friendly and definitely add to the value for money element. This location will definitely be on our must return list.

Room Tip: Ask for stunning view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Harbour View was everything we expected and hoped it would be. Very convenient location with wonderfully accommodating owners. (We arrived very late because of a delayed ferry so they just "left the light on" for us!) Room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Location is within easy walking distance of Picton harbor and some delightful restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed at Harbour View Motel in February 2011 and loved it. Lynn & Keith were very welcoming-we felt as if we knew them before we arrived because we had exchanged a few e-mails. The accommodation is excellent and we wished we had been able to stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The name is spot on - every unit has a fine view of boats going in and out of Picton harbour. It is a clean spacious and comfortable motel, ideally located for inter-island ferries and days out on Queen Charlotte Sound. If you want somewhere as a base for a night or two in Picton, look no further

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Motel Picton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.