We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and Sweet stay, great views and wonderful owners.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harbour View Motel Picton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbour View Motel Picton to your Saves list
Harbour View Motel Picton
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Short and Sweet stay, great views and wonderful owners.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Booked the Harbour view as a stop over as we had caught the Interislander from Wellington to Picton. Its a short walk from the ferry terminal however we opted for a transfer that we booked on arrival with a lady standing at the baggage carousel ($12NZD for 2 of us which was ok considering we didn't want to lug our heavy bags). Check in was quick and easy.
I had opted for the top floor because the views were lovely but it seemed all rooms had a great view of the Picton harbour. Beds were very comfy, electric blankets and sheets smelled great! ha ha. Had everything that you needed for a longer stay including a great kitchenette with cook top, fridge, toaster etc. DVD player in the room along with cd player etc.
Local shops/restaurants/bottle shop were all within walking distance.
The cleanliness of the room was impeccable and overall just really enjoyed our short but sweet stay. Keith (owner?) also gave us some great tips of things to see along our road trip.

Wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel whether its for a quick stop over or an extended getaway.

Room Tip: High floor for even better views of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    74
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
353
21
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The name says it all. We stayed on a top level unit and we were not disappointed. The view across the harbour was spectacular. We sat on our balcony several nights with fish, chips, and wine and enjoyed the view of the sounds and Picton harbour.

The room was a good size (queen bed, couch, tv, kitchette, bathroom). The motel also had a coin operated washer/dryer.

Our hosts were super friendly, happy to recommend wine tour companiess, places to eat, cruises/walks of the sounds.

The stay was just great, would love to come back.

Only negative was that the water pressure wasn’t too fantastic, but who cares. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Picton is not large. The Harbour View lives up to its name with great views over the harbour, ferry terminal and town. Our second floor room was well equipped and nicely furnished, the patio made the room and our stay. The owners could not have been more helpful and entertaining and of note the room, one of 10 we stayed in during our NZ tour had central heating via radiators - very rare.
A really great hotel and we cannot wait to go back there.

Room Tip: Great rooms on the second floor with excellent views over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Really nice, clean comfortable rooms. Beautiful views of harbour and surrounding hills.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The couple running this hotel were very friendly. The room was very clean and new with a lovely balcony and great view of the harbour! I wish we could've stayed longer because it was such a nice place.

Very clean, brand spanking new, high quality facilities with a fully stocked bathroom including towel warmer, heater, soap and shampoo, etc.

Tea and coffee were complimentary and milk was available.

Awesome place to stay when taking the ferry to/from the north island.

Free wifi internet and parking!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We love picton and the sounds, and chose HV because of its views and central location.

The owners were so helpful, willing to store our luggage (whilst on the QCT), and flexible on check-out times which was appreciated as this allowed our post QCT walking gear to finish line drying!

The fact that you can cook and eat in (on the balcony looking out at the harbour/sounds!) was a bonus for us, and as a result we chose to eat in most nights, and mornings!. There's a fridge to store your food purchases, and room (with a little juggling), to prepare meals, and sandwiches etc for days out walking/touring.

The barbecue option is great (just make sure you book it - or be prepared to share grill space with your neighbours.

This is well worth a visit, good value in our opinion, and from what we saw a very popular choice for visitors. - Book it rather than leave it to chance on arrival in Picton.

Good shower, room cleaned daily - excellent cleaning staff very friendly and flexible - came back when we weren't quite ready to leave for our days activities.

Wifi available - code required from reception.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights recently at the Harbourview motel in Picton. It is small 12 room motel located 5 mins. walking time from the main street (shops, restaurants etc.). The owners were very hospitable and friendly upon arrival. The room (top level-$140NZ per night) had a magnificient view of the harbour. As well the layout and the fittings of the room was beyond reproach even down to the electric towel warmer. An added bonus was the compact kitchen with microwave and 2 heating elements. I will be back in Picton in 2012 and I know where I will be staying.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbour View Motel Picton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel Picton

Address: 30 Waikawa Rd, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Romantic Hotel in Picton
#2 Business Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour View Motel Picton 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique studio accommodation in the heart of Picton with stunning views of Picton Harbour, the marina and surrounding landscape. Your Hosts Kim & Ian 30 Waikawa Road, Picton ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Harbour View Motel Picton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Motel Picton Hotel Picton
Harbour View Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbour View Motel Picton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.