We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barn Cafe

Barn Cafe
48 High St, Picton 7372, New Zealand
+64 3-573 7440
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Restaurants in Picton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Contemporary, New Zealand
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service & Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Interesting collection of Kiwi antiques used as part of the decor,good value and great service,noticed quite a few family groups dining.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments Brian. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and the ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    62
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly family environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Friendly staff and environment. Karaoke was on performed by the locals early in the evening. Food was nice and just what we felt like. Nice place to take the kids. Not too expensive.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We always do our best to try and generate a warm and friendly environment. It is nice to be told that we are succeeding. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Felt right at home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

A lovely lady said to me just as my boyfriend and myself as we walked in, the food is very good. We instantly thought we had made a good decision.

The waitress's were both very nice and happy. And cleaned a table for us by the window,Perfect.
We got settled after getting out of the rain and they came over and asked us if we wanted drinks and gave us the menu.

We decided on chilli chicken and my boyfriend a pork roast.

As we were waiting we saw the old displays of olden day bits and bobs from around the picton area. A great idea for a restaurant!

Are food came out in no time and it was well worth the wait!

This place is reasonably priced friendly staff and cozy and warm just like your at home with great atmosphere, would definitely recommend.

We loved our meal and felt right at home.

We left feeling full and I said as we left to another woman who was looking at the menu the food is very good,just as the lady said to me as we went in. That compliment must be still going on now!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We have passed these on to all the staff, sice we all get a buzz from being told we are doing a good job. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Em's on tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This eatery has an amazing eclectic display of memorabilia from eras past. Wonderful food good value for money and very hospitable staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to The Barn and recommend it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate our customers' input so that we may constantly improve the service we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide River, Australia
1 review
“Great atmosphere and people, good value and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stopped here for a dinner coming off the Wellington-Picton ferry, as I think alot of travellers do and it was exactly what we were after, casual but nice, warm restaurant/pub/cafe with good value, decent meals and a good variety on the menu too. The wooden interior makes it feel very warm and the abundance of people dining -on a monday night no less!- confirmed it was a winner. Staff were very friendly and food was served quickly. The array of quirky old objects added charm including a line of various old hats, old stand alone radios, posters etc. A tv screen cycling photos from the place showed it was fun, lively place that sees its fair share of characters. A few travellers struck up conversations when we were there as the place has a friendly, community vibe

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerijan, Owner at Barn Cafe, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We always get a great kick from hearing back from our satisfied customers. It makes what we do here more enjoyable to know that we have done a good job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barn Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barn Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.