We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, home town friendliness.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barn Cafe

Barn Cafe
48 High St, Picton 7372, New Zealand
+64 3-573 7440
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 restaurants in Picton
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: Contemporary, Bar, Café, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, home town friendliness.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The staff at The Barn couldn't have been more friendly and accomodating. Picton is not a late night hot spot so trying to get a meal later at night (after 8:30) is nearly impossible (walked out of another bar restaurant because we were left sitting for 40 minutes by which time their kitchen closed) but The Barn were not only happy to feed us but the food was great, the service prompt and the staff friendly. We'll go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    87
    45
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bremen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One word: Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The cafe is nicely arranged in Western style and the music was relaxed.
We had Chilli Chicken (+ salad and steamed rice) and baked chicken (+ salad and fries) which were both delicious. The stuff was very friendly. It did not took long time to get the food or a stuff member to come.
5 pts!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spare ribs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

The best spare ribs in the southern hemisphere!,good athmosphere and friendly staff and generally a good place to eat.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyttelton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“WILL GO BACK AND TRY OTHER DISHES!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

After a rather fraught evening trying to get assistance for a broken car gear box and a less than pleasant welcome at our motel, we headed off into downtown Picton to see if we might be lucky and find somewhere to eat.

We spotted the barn and went it and yes, we could still order food, even though it was getting rather late – probably 930 or so.

The staff very friendly and the atmosphere would be even better with more people, but the music was good.

We both ordered a burger. It came with perfect chips and a tasty salad. Other more interesting options were available but felt it unfair to give the kitchen staff any thing too time consuming. I'm sure though we could have ordered anything and it wouldn't be a problem!

My only niggle is that the burger was not that good – tasted like a pre-bought catering one, but I could be mistaken. Add a dollar or so to the price and supply a better quality one.

But, I do not wish to suggest that the other food isn't going to be very good, I think we just chose the wrong thing.

We will definitely be back when next in Picton.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Service is a shambles”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Was given a 10% discount card from our motel-waiter wasn't very welcoming-no greeting-during our wait for our food he asked if he could vacuum the floor around us!!!??? My partner said yes! I could have killed him too! Food was very average-nothing to write home about-pick it up guys because as we found out later there are much better eateries in picton

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barn Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Barn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barn Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.