We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Queen Charlotte Track

Queen Charlotte Track
Marlborough Sounds, Picton, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Queen Charlotte Track like an insider
Top Rated
$1,301*
and up
5-Day New Zealand North and South Island...
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Picton
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I spent four hours hiking from Te Mahia Bay to the Portage - amazing scenery. From the crest of the Te Mahia Saddle there are amazing views of both Queen Charlotte and Kenepuru Sounds

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    80
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Very well laid out track to a small peninsular, beautiful views seen around the Sound. Give yourself plenty of time, more than the signs said as the walk was uphill at times. Needs sunny weather to complete the enjoyment.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great walk, sore knees, but no blisters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The walk says 71km, but with trips to our lodges (see separate reviews), we reckon we did about 90 km. very easy to do in 5 days, hilly but not overly so. Our group of 40-55 yo friends coped well. It helped that we were on one of the luxury guided walks where our bags turned up at a different lodge every night. Weather and scenery were spectacular. A pod of approx 200 dolphins and a small pod of killer whales were added bonuses. I would happily do this again with my kids

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Magical place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We walked 2 chunks of the track from Resolution to Punga and then from Torea to Anikiwa. We loved the variety of bush and terrain. It required a good elvel of fitness but rewarded the slog up the hills with great views. Enjoyed the weka on the bludge for food and the glorious bird song especially in Endeavour Inlet

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
145 attraction reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Various walks for anybody”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The walking and trekking opportunities are various with the possibilities of different lengths.
We were left off from a tourboat, did a three hour trek and were picked up again by the postboat. The various operators in the Picton harbour can tailor make your trip to suit your time and fitness, including overnight stays at controlled camping grounds.
From visiting the camping grounds it seems that you may only stay a few nights on each location.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen Charlotte Track also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Queen Charlotte Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen Charlotte Track, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.