We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation to your Saves list
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Friendly, clean, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights. Excellent location - close to the ferry, in the centre of the town, super market across the street, near the waterfront and gateway for an evening stroll. Room was very spacious and neat and clean with a kitchenette. Host helped us plan our days while we stayed there, booked the cruise for us and also marked key attractions on the map for our trip to next destination.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    146
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
203
318
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed here for four nights after crossing on the ferry. Our room was comfortable and clean and we made use of the BBQ outside. Kent couldn't have been more helpful, giving us loads of advice on good areas to visit, places to walk to and even some tips on places to catch on our journey to our next place. The information centre was fantastic and they booked fishing and boat trips for us, taking the hassle out of our trip. We were pleased with how close it was to the ferry terminal, just a short drive, as well as right in the middle of the shops and next to the waterfront, whilst still being a peaceful place to stay. We would stay here again on a another visit to NZ.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed two nights at the Gateway and really enjoyed it. Kent arranged our booking on a Marlborough winery tour. All we needed to do was wait out the front for the bus to collect us. The room was clean and comfortable. I thought it might be noisy given the central location, but it wasn't. The shower was great too. The only negative was the wifi. The signal was poor and, despite Kent rebooting, we were unable to use it. It didn't matter too much as it was one of the rare places where my 2degrees SIM card was providing service and I used it instead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for one night after crossing on the ferry. The motel was only a few minutes drive from the ferry terminal, clean, comfortable and in the village centre. We had not stayed in a motel before, but were pleasantly surprised, the owners were also extremely helpful and polite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This is an affordable, clean, and well run establishment. The owners go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. They have picnic tables for a "take away" picnic. They can also arrange transportation to the lovely, not to be missed, Queen Charlotte Walk.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at Gateway for one night before and one night after we travelled to the Queen Charlotte Wilderness Park Lodge.
It's the first time a motelier has ever greeted me with a handshake! He was very friendly and helpful, and we appreciated the suggestions about meals out. The deal with Cortado Restaurant, which included a free drink with every meal by showing our room key, was great value.
Our first night was upstairs, which was perfectly adequate, if a little dated. The enclosed lightwell backing onto all the bathrooms could be noisy at times.
Ask for a downstairs room when booking as we stayed there the second night and the rooms are bigger and have been renovated.
Very clean, centrally located (a stroll from the ferry terminal or Bluebridge will drop you off), free wifi and friendly staff. All you need!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We have stayed at Gateaway Motel for the second time. We have had a very good time at this Motel last year and come back again this year. The hosts Ken & Mary are very kind and always welcome us friendly. We feel like at home. The position is just center of the city near the every thing we need and Inside is very quiet. We recommend here strongly to everyone. We will be stay longer next time. Thanks again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#10 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Address: 32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton Accommodation Gateway Motel is situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Picton Accommodation Motel is nestled in the heart of Picton.Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travellers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.