We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Picton Location - with extras!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation to your Saves list
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Perfect Picton Location - with extras!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is the easiest and best situated place to get to in Picton. Minutes from the ferry, with pick-ups included if necessary, it is half way down the main street so perfect strolling distance to the gorgeous gardens on the front, restaurants and shops.

There is a café attached which is open from 7am - and, best of all, they have their own information centre so can help with all the wonderful things there are to do in Picton and the surroundings, and make excellent suggestions to help you with the rest of your South Island holiday once you've explored everything Picton has to offer (and there's lots!)

Kent and Marie are lovely hosts, nothing is too much trouble, and the rooms are clean, beds are comfy - and the showers will blow you away!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    138
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
196
309
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I would like to thank the Gateway Motel and all the staff for the excellent service they gave while staying with them. They went out of their way to find a suitable place to park our boat and made our holiday very enjoyable, nothing was a bother, recommending the best places to eat, things to do. The rooms were very comfortable cleaned daily, the selection of food and breakfast in café was tops and the higher scooter rides a laugh. Thank you so much we will be back.
Regards Tony and Helen

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

If your picking a place in Picton, then you couldnt pick a better place than the Gateway Motel.
Why I hear you ask,? and Im glad you did .As the name says ''Gateway Motel "and it is right in the middle of High Street, Gateway, because you can book everything you need from a Scooter to a Feed, and not only that but Kent and Marie, are People Persons and you can not get much better than that , Now what do you want when you arrive in a new place?
Friendly People, Check, Good Service, Check, Nice clean , large rooms, Check, Once you have settled in, Information about what to do, where to go, what to see,Check and when its time to leave, not too big a bill that you wont come back, Check.
Works for me every time, I came Back,
As the name says
''Gateway Motel'' and it lives up to it How many place say that and mean it ???
Laurie A, from Sydney Way

Room Tip: Be nice to the People who are going to be nice to you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I travelled to Picton recently with my sister and a friend, and we spent one night at the Gateway Motel.

The service was friendly and relaxed, and the units were clean and spacious.

The kitchen equipment is not too extensive, but good enough if you decide to cook in the unit.

Shower was powerful and beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riversdale, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I enjoyed my 8 weeks in Picton at the Gateway Motel. I was made to feel like it was my home away from home. It had nice clean rooms and they are well serviced.
It is in a good location. The cafe there had a top breakfast menu and I got great packed lunches.
Would Highly Recommend to all.
Rob, ANDREWS

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter for sleeping during the day when doing shift work
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Due to an airline delay, we were not able to arrive until 1 a.m. in Picton, Kent and Marie very kindly organised a late night shuttle to transfer us from Nelson airport, changed our rooms (at their cost) to help us out, picked our kids up from the ferry, sorted huge delicious lunches for our trek on the first day on the Queen Charlotte Track. and were charming and helpful.
The two bedroom motel room was comfortable and clean, We were only there for about 6 hours as we headed out to the track at 7.30 a.m. Again, Kent very kindly transported our bags to the wharf.
On our return we stayed in a two bedroom deluxe family unit, which had a waterfront view; this was a perfect spot to rest our aching muscles after the tramp.
If there was a button higher than 5 star, I'd click it!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We chose this place after reading all the great reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed! We received a wonderful warm & friendly welcome from the owners who took time to give us all the information we needed to make the most out of our short stay in Picton. The motel is excellently located and rooms are well appointed and comfortable (and spotlessly clean). I shall definitely choose this place again when I return. Thanks Kent and Marie!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Address: 32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton Accommodation Gateway Motel is situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Picton Accommodation Motel is nestled in the heart of Picton.Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travellers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.