We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean & Comfortable: Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation to your Saves list
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Picton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Clean & Comfortable: Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The lovely new queen sized beds were just what we needed after our drive from Christchurch!
The room was immaculately clean, the shower strong and the WiFi free!
The hosts Kent and Marie Stevenson were very welcoming- our bags were carried up to the room.
Nice and quiet even though our room faced the main street.
Motel is very conveniently placed for restaurants, bars and the Wellington Ferry: you can dump your car and explore the town on foot.
We will use again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    139
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
196
310
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Got off the late ferry, but knew that had booked motel within walking distance, which this one was -- but turns out that they would have picked us up, if we had notified them. Just looking for clean accommodations in which to sleep for night. Queen-size beds, which not all or even most motels have, and capacious bathroom with wonderfully hot water (and double-ply toilet paper, even more unusual). Kent at front desk recommended Urbano across street for best coffee in town and couldn't have been more pleased with that recommendation. Not spacious or luxurious, but great price, location and accommodations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wanganui
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We had intended staying at a motel out of town when we looked around this motel as it was in the middle of town, we were met by an extremly friendly lady who showed us a room. We stayed the night in what turned out to be the best of all motels we had stayed in on our holiday.
Our room was upstairs but it was very quiet and spotless and the staff even offerd to help with our bags.

Room Tip: Next door was a top class resturant and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Gateway Motel is an excellent place to stay in Picton. It is central -- set amongst the main concentration of shops, restaurants, bars etc. in this small town, and within easy walking distance of both the marina and the ferry terminal (though the Gateway does provide free transport to the terminal, on request). The motel has recently been extensively refurbished
-- and the rooms are smart, very clean and tidy, and well equipped. The owners are obviously very keen to please, and to ensure that their considerable outlays on their motel are translated into satisfied customers.
Given the above, and the very reasonable room rates, we will have no hesitation in booking in to the Gateway next time we are in Picton.
(An afterthought -- the hotel does offer discount vouchers for some nearby eateries, but we did not get round to using these during our stay)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Am a small tour-operator and have been using various Motels and Hotels in Picton before. What a positive change this property undergone with the new owners. Brilliant functionality and quality in equipment and furnishings. Comfortable and properly maintained and serviced. Perfect for my small groups! Coupled with the free wifi offered and the friendly personal service: Can not recommend this Motel enough. Thank you.

Room Tip: weekends might be a bit noisier in town, but harmless overall. all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked this last minute on the ferry over from Wellington, purely on the great ratings it had from TripAdvisor. On the surface it wouldn't have been our style of place to stay but the room was immaculate and the attention of the owners second to none.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We only had one night at this motel but wished we also had more. The accommodation was fantastic, clean and comfortable. Kent and Marie are very friendly and helpful and although they forgot to pick us up with their free ferry shuttle service, we didnt hold that against them. They did offer to take us to collect our hire car the next day!! Defo stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Address: 32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton Accommodation Gateway Motel is situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Picton Accommodation Motel is nestled in the heart of Picton.Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travellers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.