We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation to your Saves list
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Picton
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Motel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We were made to feel very at home by Kent and Marie and really enjoyed our stay. The location of the motel is excellent for Picton and the ferries or trains. The room was large, clean and very comfortable. The added extras of the laundry and lift to the train were most useful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    146
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
203
318
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this motel when we arrived in Picton as we took the last ferry from Wellington and also stayed on our return to Wellington.
The motel is very close to the ferry terminal and is clean and modern. The owners were very helpful and friendly.
We had a very comfortable stay - thank you.
Sheena and Mark

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Perfectly situated in the Main Street, only 10 minutes walk from the ferry, the motel was easy to find. On arrival our hosts were very welcoming and helpful suggesting places to eat locally. Our room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed for our short stay. Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was the first stop on our family vacation consisting of 1 grandchild, his 2 parents, and 5 grandparents. We had 4 rooms, each with a kitchenette. Kent and Marie were gracious, helpful, accommodating hosts. Motel is centrally located a block away from the waterfront. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were fortunate to enjoy a night at this motel early January 2013. We had a one bedroom unit which was more than adequate for ourselves and our three children. All of the beds were lovely and comfortable, and it was very clean, with plenty of room. The hosts here really go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay, and are both very nice people. We would definitely look to stay here again if we visit Picton in the future. This motel is very centrally located, has good parking, and you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived around 10pm, a lot later than expected but this wasn't a problem at all to the owners who kindly saw us to our rooms. We had a 2 bedroom motel booking for 2 nights and were very happy with our stay. Even though it is right in town surrounded by shops, it was nice and quiet where our room was located.
I really appreciated the complimentary washing powder and the convenience of the communal washing machine and dryer ($4 per load I think).
I was very impressed that the motel promptly contacted me when I accidentally left my ring behind in our rush to get the ferry on our last morning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fantastic gem of a motel! Kent & Marie were awesome and unbelievably helpful for all our needs and our baby. Looks are deceiving-it seems standard on the outside but inside is clean, fresh and oh so comfy!! We can't recommend this motel enough. Go there, get the ferry the next day. Awesome

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
High Street Living Motel
#10 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Address: 32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton Accommodation Gateway Motel is situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Picton Accommodation Motel is nestled in the heart of Picton.Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travellers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.