We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, clean and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation to your Saves list
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Saratoga, California
1 review
“Excellent service, clean and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We checked in late on Sunday night and restaurants in town are closed. Much to our surprise the owner fixed us a meal with local seafood - for free! The room is clean, close to shops/restaurants in town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    611
    119
    20
    7
    2
See reviews for
181
280
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
levin horowhenua newzealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

my husband and i highly recommend this accommodation for anyone visiting the picton for a night or two the service from chris and kerri is impeccable being right in the centre of picton it is so close to the marinas and shopping an restaurants and walking distance to thr interislander ferries. the rooms ere clean and very comfortable thank you to chris and kerri for your hospitality.
from brent and jackie carter

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Vale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

A really nice motel, very clean and tidy and the staff were so friendly and helpful. It was also very good value for money as they gave me a discount for staying more than 1 night, I had a little kitchen which had everything I needed to cook simple meals, free internet and for a motel it was really spacious. Also, it was right in the middle of town. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at the Gateway Motel in Picton and I enjoyed my stay that I will be back. The friendly reception by Chris & Kerri when I arrived put me in the right mood for my stay & the condition of my room was excellent. They were very helpful with any help I needed & Kent who is taking over the place was great to talk to & also very friendly & helpful. They made me feel very welcome & have a good laugh with them too.
They do make you want to come back & I will better all my friends & family know that if in Picton then that's the place to stay..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a top excellent hotel. I have been in many hotels in the west and Europe and I would
rate it very highly. It is not only about the place being clean, comfortable, and upgraded for no reason.
It is about the commitment of the people running it Chris Kent, Kerri. They help you with your requests.
We had a problem with booked track. They not only helped us sort it out – they gave us lift, explained to us, provided alternative that worked. In addition, all their help comes with dedication, you do not feel you are burdening them. So, it is not about the free wifi (which for us was very important) and not about free ride from the train station – just really feeling at home and taken care of. Recommend the Gateway
very much. It is just at the heart of Picton, two steps from the boats and Queen Charlotte tracks.

Room Tip: Just talk to Chris, the manager owner and you get one better than you booked (:
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic place to say with awesome people. We book in 8 truck drivers at last minutes notice nothing was a hassle. We stay there for a week Chris & Kerri (Kent) made our stay feel like it was home away from home. They worked the cleaning around our shifts. Motel is in walking distance to anything you need
So makes it easy for people that have no transport. I would fully recommend the gateway motel to anyone.

Thanks guys for having us look forward to the next time we stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Gateway Motel while travelling through Picton. The hostess, host, and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. We had studio unit, which was very well equipped, clean, and comfortable. The location of the motel in Picton was ideal--right on the main street with ample restaurants and shops, with the bus stops, ferry terminals, and water only minutes away. We were incredibly happy with out experience, and highly recommend the Gateway Motel to anyone planning on a stay in Picton.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Address: 32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton Accommodation Gateway Motel is situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Picton Accommodation Motel is nestled in the heart of Picton.Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travellers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.