We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation to your Saves list
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

great room and comfortable beds, great facility in the room and the shower was fantastic which is not the case in a lot of motels , customer service was great we were greeted off the ferry at a very late hour and the manager was there to meet us and was more than happy to help with whatever we needed ,had a good knowledge of the local area which was helpful would highly recommend to anyone looking at traveling to this area, also a great location right in the main street of Picton so easy access to everything

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    139
    23
    7
    2
See reviews for
196
310
60
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Under new management and being renovated, this is a 2 minute drive from the Interislander and in the middle of Picton.
Rooms are just renovated: clean, comfortable. Friendly host.
If i ever visit Picton again i would stay there again.
Ken

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

We arrived on motorbike while raining 9pm unannounced, planning to catch 7am ferry the next morning. Chris and Kerry were very friendly and helpful hosts. Restaurant selection was getting limited by 9.30 so Kerry offered to cook two extra meals, from fresh fish given them that morning, while preparing their own meal. Above and beyond the normal expectations of motel accommodation. The fish was beautiful!!
The room was clean and tidy with a very comfortable new bed.
Throughly recommend this motel to stay while in Picton. Comfortable, central, quiet with amazing hosts.
Ray and Katie.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Room was comfortable, clean and quiet. It had been recently redecorated and had a brand-new king-sized bed. The owner-manager was helpful and able to advise about local services. The location was excellent and next door to a good variety restaurants etc.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohope, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great motel and very nicely refurbished room and very comfortable and quiet even though in the middle of town. Chris, the proprietor went out of his way for us when we arrived late at night booking us on the ferry for the next morning and actually paying for it with his own credit card. Hard to find that sort of service these days. I would recomend the Motel and hospitality to anyone wanting somewhere to stay in Picton.
Carol & Trevor

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This friendly and refurbished motel is located on the main street of Picton just a 1 minute walk from the waterfront. The new owners are doing an excellent job of renovating the place completely (only 5 more rooms to go when we visited early february 2012) and the new look is fresh, crisp and very clean. We had a lower ground room with seating area outside for a nice cup of coffee in the sunshine. The property also offers shiny new barbecues and a leafy courtyard. It is absolutely excellent value for money and I almost felt a bit ashamed that I didn't pay more for such great service, high quality room and perfect location!

We also received very helpful advice on where to eat and what to see while in Picton (if only we stayed longer) and if you want a taste of walking through the Queen Charlotte Sounds, there is a great track that takes you from the hotel to a little beach through the lush mountain or alternatively via the pebble beaches (in low tide only) .

So all in all, better value for money would be hard to find , we absolutely loved it and would be very happy to recommend it for anyone traveling to Picton.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room (although soon you won't have to as all of them should be completed v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a night before heading out to the sounds. We were most impressed with the helpfulness of the host. The room had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The location was perfect, so close to cafe, restaurant and bars. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Address: 32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#3 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton Accommodation Gateway Motel is situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Picton Accommodation Motel is nestled in the heart of Picton.Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travellers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.