We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Biker friendly motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Save Saved
You added Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
GREAT DEALS FROM $99
Ranked #3 of 16 hotels in Picton
Edmond, Oklahoma
1 review
“Biker friendly motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

While traveling through New Zealand on motorcycles my riding partner and I had the opportunity to stay at the Gateway Motel in Picton. The owner, Chris Sullivan, was very helpful and suggested we park our bikes in the courtyard near our room for convienience and security. The room was clean and neat and we are very comfortable. It was a real haven for 2 Yanks after a day of riding. When the remodling is completed this will be a most excellent hostel. Steve

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    554
    112
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
168
253
48
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

It's not just about the generous, fluffy towels and the very clean and renovated rooms, it's about the warm, friendly greeting from owners Chris and Kerry. They couldn't do enough for us, from the offer of pickup at the ferry, to many suggestions on where to go and enjoy the Picton surroundings. The property has two BBQs and laundry facilities and sunny views of the harbour from upper units and don't miss having a cod dinner at Mikes down the street.
We are on a three month visit to New Zealand and will definitely return to Picton and Gateway on our return north.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

The room was well appointed, beautifully clean and decorated and the motel was central to everything being in the very heart of the city. The proprietor was friendly and warm and could not do enough for us. He advised us what he felt were the best places to see and the best way to get there and just went that little bit further than any other motel proprietors in our trip around the South Is.

Room Tip: wWe stayed on the lower ground floor in the newly refurbished rooms which was great for us as both o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked this accommodation after the recent reviews on here for a weekend away from our home near Wellington, and weren't disappointed. The units are really comfortable, and well appointed. Can't say enough about the hosts, who were friendly and were more than happy to help. Will definitely stay here again when travelling through the area. Thanks again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, and would recommend it as being great, especially if you're wanting to go s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I recently arrived back from a six week trip around new Zealand, we were extremely happy with our stay at the gateway motel picton the owners chris and kerry were the most hospitable and welcoming hosts we would have to say staying there was the highlight of the accomadtion on our trip the rooms were recently refurbished were spotlessly clean and the beds were very comfortable the motel was well priced and well positioned we highly recommend this place

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

On a business trip to Nelson my wife and I got off the ferry at Picton with no accommodation plans. We walked up the main road and saw the entrance of the Gateway Motel. It looked clean and decent. I stood in the car park and had a look. A man in the office smiled and came out to us(Chris the owner). He introduced himself and spoke to us for a while. He showed us the rooms but did NOT once push us to take a room. We couldn't decide if we wanted to stay in Picton or Nelson. Chris encouraged us to go to Nelson and have a look and then decide where we wanted to sleep. Chris does NOT know us from a bar of soap but says to us that if we decide to come back the same night he is going to leave a room open for us and the key in a place where we can collect it then we can settle the bill the next day (that is TRUST). We decided to go back the same night and when we got to the Motel, Chris was still working and greated us with a smile and even asked if we have eaten (we did). We went to our room to find a clean, fresh smelling and neat room with fresh towls and washcloths and soap. The bathroom so tidy and clean(excellent) and you have a full kitchen with tea and coffee. We had a good sleep, the bed is comfortable and the sheets are clean. It feels like home. The next morning I asked Chris if I could leave my car in the car park until we have to doc, once again it was no problem. Chris even asked us if we wanted to go with him to Blenheim for a few hours. When it came time to board, I had a problem with my car battery. Chris came to my rescue and even gave me jumper leads so that we could get home. These people are saints and your accommodation is excellent. You made myself and my wife want to come back to your Motel, and we intend to do so soon. Thank You for your hospitality.

Room Tip: They are all good. Just ask Chris & Kerri for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Recently on a business trip to wellington, i stayed in an upstairs refurbished unit, get one of these,they are like new, and have a great balcony over looking the main street, [sunny warm and quiet]. The hosts Kerri and Chris Sullivan were fabulous, nothing was a problem, and they would pick you up or take you to the ferry any time day or night..Go and stay there!!!!!!

Room Tip: get a room upstairs if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Address: 32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#1 Family Hotel in Picton
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton Accommodation Gateway Motel is situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Picton Accommodation Motel is nestled in the heart of Picton.Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travellers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.