We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Motel on the road” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation to your Saves list
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Best Motel on the road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We spent two nights at the Gateway Motel in Picton. This motel is centrally located, close to all amenities. The current owners are busy with renovations and upgrading all the rooms. I am confident that at the end of the upgrade the rooms will look fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    146
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
203
318
66
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

My partner and I unexpectedly found ourselves in Picton due to car trouble on a busy, holiday-season evening and found ourselves at the Gateway Motel late in the evening. We were given an incredibly warm reception (the family even shared their leftovers with us since we arrived after the town's restaurants had closed!), a lovely room and then were pointed towards a mechanic who helped us out the next day. Both of us were completely blown away with the amount of kindness and hospitality--will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

After hiking the Queen Charlotte Track we booked into the Gateway Motel exhausted and with backpacks full of wet dirty clothes and equipment and were greeted by the wonderful owners, Chris and Kerri Sullivan. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious with great showers. After taking over the laundry for a few hours we were able to wash and dry all our clothes and equipment. Chris and Kerri's service, together with their gorgeous daughter Sam, was beyond expectations and we thank them for making our stay so enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble. The Motel is located in the middle of town so access to shops, restaurants, train station and ferry service is all within walking distance. Would highly recommend. With the continual upgrading of facilities this place will only get better.

Room Tip: First floor rooms facing the harbour have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had left home in the North island 10 days prior, travelled through Catebury,West coast and Marlborough and had a great time. A last minute decission to stay the night in Picton rather than travell through fro Nelson to catch the ferry left us with only a few options for the four of us to stay. We were lucky enough to stay with Chris and Kerri as our hosts and really appreciate the lengths they went to to make our last night in the South island a great one. Really impressed with the complete package.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We actually ended our trip on the South Island at the Gateway Motel in Picton, but you really couldn't have a better a place to stay to start your adventures on the South Island. Picton itself is a stunning little town and the Gateway Motel is ideally located to enjoy all that it has to offer. The motel has recently been refurbished and looks great following all the effort which has been put in. Our room was great, especially the bathroom with the shower doing a great job of refreshing after a long day of travelling. This motel will get better and better over the coming months with the continued improvements. Go on, book up now if you're travelling in this part of the world.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Accommodating host who happily changed our unit to suit my husband's disability. Very clean, tidy, well serviced and quiet accommodation in the heart of Picton. Just had a change of name and would be good to see the signage changed to reflect this as not to confuse 'older travellers'.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We booked this motel in October, didn't know what to expect, well we were so impressed by the welcome, smiles & laughter and felt Part of the family, even by molly.Nothing was a problem. They have spent time and money into getting this motel in top condition.
The room was new clean and tidy, all ammenities were there from pick-up to drop off to ferry, time was not an issue, walking distance to restaurants and beach, but just Kerri & Chris's open home was enough to put a big smile on our dials.After a long 7 days travelling this was our final nite, and they gave us that relaxed feeling, ready to go back on the ferry, and drive for another 8hrs. Thank you Chris & Kerri, we will be back, and so will our friends.

Room Tip: E-mail and get all questions answered, then you have a copy of the answers, and know what to expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
0.1 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
High Street Living Motel
0.1 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation

Address: 32 High Street (Main Street), Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Americano Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Picton
#1 Best Value Hotel in Picton
#2 Family Hotel in Picton
#2 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picton Accommodation Gateway Motel is situated at the top of the South Island of New Zealand and gateway to the beautiful Marlborough Sounds, the Picton Accommodation Motel is nestled in the heart of Picton.Your hosts Kent and Marie extend a friendly welcome and invite you to experience the genuine southern hospitality that makes the Picton Accommodation Motel a popular location for travellers to relax and enjoy Picton activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americano Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.