We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellet place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Picton Yacht Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Picton Yacht Club Hotel to your Saves list
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Picton)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Picton
nelson
1 review
“Excellet place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Had a great stay will definitely be back. great service chris was very friendly. although we did not use the restaurant it looked graceful and elegant.rooms were very nice i we loved the eco friendly products.great stuff .i highly recommend the park regis in picton to anyone

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear magna23,

I have shown your great comment to Chris and he is delighted – it is always encouraging for our team members to know their hard work is appreciated.
We all look forward to your return visit.

Many thanks

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    18
    8
    10
See reviews for
10
42
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great location of this 3 star hotel right in the heart of the town of Picton. Within easy reach to the ferries terminals, marinas and restaurants. Rooms are a bit worn and old but good size, comfortable sleep. Even though I was a solo traveler I had 2 single beds and a double bed in the bathroom was quite large. There is a nice outdoor balcony and swimming pool outside. Only bad thing I can complain is the exorbitant prices for in room wifi, in this day and age with Internet facilities and prepaid mobile broadband the prices at hotels for in room wifi are just astronomic. Try getting a prepaid sim while in NZ with Telecom you get 3GB of data for 30 days for $29 compare that to a 24 hours pass here for the same price, that its just a total rip off.

Room Tip: I heard one side of the hotel has been renovated try getting a room on the newer side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear JosePablin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, I am glad you enjoyed a comfortable sleep. We are lucky to have such a great location in Picton, as you have mentioned we are within walking distance of all the activities and services within the town.
We hope to see you back in Picton one day.

Thanks
Ulhas Shetty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed here for one night as I was catching the ferry in the morning.

I got the cheapest room they had, which they explained had not being redecorated. The tv was unwatchable, the reception on it was like something from the 80s when you had a set of rabbits ears sitting on top of your telly.

The swimming pool looked manky. All the paint was peeling off the floor of it making it look dirty

On the upside, the receptionist was quite friendly.

60/70 bucks would be the price of this room IMO

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Slidey,

Thank you for your honest opinion. As I have mentioned in previous responses we are in the process of planning a refurbishment due to be complete by mid-year. I am very pleased to hear the service you received was friendly and we hope to welcome you again sometime soon.

Thank you
Ulhas Shetty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at the Regis for a mini conference. Service was faultless, staff were very accomodating, facilities were all that we could have wished for without being ostentatious or over-powering in any way. As we were a mini conference (8 delegates & partners) the facilities provided sometimes had to accomodate other guests. With the friendly help of the staff we felt both parties were able to enjoy the surroundings. The only downer was the exorbitant price asked for Wifi. We overcome this by using personal hotspots but this was a nuisance. Some attention to this small detail would be huge for organisations like us (Don't underestimate the inconvenience of this if you are from The Regis and you're reading this!)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view - simply breath taking & as good as you will get anywhere in the world
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Gary and Jill,

Thank you very much for your great review of our hotel and services. We enjoyed having your group stay with us and would love to see you return.
We are as a group (Staywell Hospitality) looking into internet options as we do understand how important this is to all our guests and would like to be able to provide this service at a more competitive price – if not free!

With warm regards,

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

WE booked into one of the new rooms which was quite nice. Plenty of room, comfortable bed and a lovely rain shower. Pool was heated to a great temp. Staff friendly and happy to give us a cheaper rate. These guys are trying. Oh and lovely smelly's in the bathroom. 190 a bit dear but they will negotiate

Room Tip: Talk to the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Adele P,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you very much for your feedback.

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We used this accommodation as we had discount vouchers. We stayed overnight in Picton before heading to the start of the Queens Charlotte track and than again overnight after finishing it. The rooms were tired and in need of refurbishment. However it was clean and tidy.
Diane from housekeeping could not have been more accommodating on check in, even helped us lugging packs up the stairs. Above and beyond the call of duty. Thank you!

Room Tip: rooms on 1st floor slightly better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear GwendaJean,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about Di, she is a great asset to the hotel and runs our housekeeping department very well.

I hope you thoroughly enjoyed the Queen Charlotte track and we hope to see you back in Picton one day.

Many thanks

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We thought we had booked in to the Mecure which normally has a good reputation, the website photos also looked good. On arrival we found out they had changed their name to the Park Regis, Picton, that was after us driving around forever trying to find the Mecure.
OMG!! it was like stepping back in to the 80s, they had clearly spent money on the reception and pool area, in fact no expense spared there, however our room was old, dirty and outdated, the carpet was stained all over, it clearly hadn't seen a lick of paint in many years. They advertised sky tv, but the signal was so bad it was unwatchable. We found dried green snot on our duvet - how disgusting. The bathroom was dark and mouldy and resembled a public rest room. The cleaners in this hotel need to be sacked. How dare they charge top dollar for this grotty place, our advice to travellers is to keep driving past and find something better.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkRegisPicton, General Manager at Picton Yacht Club Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear christine l,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. The hotel changed hands and became the Park Regis on the 1st of December 2013. We are excited about the changeover as plans are already in place for a refurbishment on our very spacious but older style rooms as you have detailed above. I am sorry you felt the cleanliness of your room was not up to standard, our housekeeping team always does a great job which is why I am surprised at your comments and will be investigating this further – my thanks for bringing this to my attention.

I do hope you were still able to enjoy your time in Picton

Regards,

Ulhas Shetty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.0 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
2.2 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
High Street Living Motel
0.0 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.1 mi away
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Picton Yacht Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Yacht Club Hotel

Address: 25 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand (Formerly Park Regis Picton)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Picton Yacht Club Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sitting in a prime location with spectacular views of Marlborough Sound and wine region, Picton Yacht Club Hotel is a perfect destination for either a holiday escape or business event. With 48 comfortable spacious rooms and contemporary apartments to choose from, Picton Yacht Club Hotel has rooms to suit every guest's preference. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Picton Yacht Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Picton Marlborough Sounds Hotel Picton
The Yacht Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picton Yacht Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.