We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect winter break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Portage Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Portage Resort Hotel to your Saves list
The Portage Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2923 Kenepuru Road | Picton, Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Peppers Portage)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Picton
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect winter break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Lovely warm room on arrival. Friendly and helpful staff who made us very welcome. Fantastic views and very relaxing. Surrounded by bush and we were pleased to see a Weka. Easy access to the Queen Charlotte track too. We had a great weekend enjoyed every minute. Thank you

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Kia Ora Jenny J,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about Peppers Portage with us. Like yourself, a lot of our guest actually love this time of the year with the settled weather and being able to get away from the hustle and bustle of busy lifes. Relaxing by our fire place with a nice glass of wine and a good book is most relaxing. Snuggling up in the blankets on our deck and enjoying the winter sun setting over the bay is a great way to end a day. There is so much to do in winter and we are offering great rates during this time of the year.

Many thanks again and we hope to see you back here in the not too distant future.

Stefan Kracke and the team @ Peppers Portage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    72
    46
    50
    30
See reviews for
32
116
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Four blokes just had a nice rest at Porters mid Queen Charlotte walk and what great place. The food and service were amazing. Stephan the manager couldn't do enough for us, Ross cooked up a storm in the kitchen (best kumara soup we've had). But mainly Juanita in the dining room was amazing - so attentive and lovely. She even snuck us coffee and muffins to take on the last leg. Great place. Nice people.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Kia Ora squidgyAuckland,

It was a pleasure to have you here for a well deserved break. Walking the track together was obviously a great experience but seeing how much fun you had was great. Ross and Juanita are thrilled with your comments and the Kumara Soup is a permanent dish on our winter menu now.
Please let me know when you'll be back so I can organise the pursuit team for your walk.

Many thanks again for the nice feedback and all the best.

Stefan & the Team @ Peppers Portage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Friendly staff & amazing venue made our conference experience extremely enjoyable. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and making full use of the facilities. Thanks team, you went the extra mile and we really appreciated it!

Room Tip: Worth paying more for sea view, its beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Kia Ora Leanna D,

Many thanks for sharing your experience at Peppers Portage here. It is always nice to get great feedback and it is very encouraging for the whole team. It shows that we are enjoying being hosts and making sure that every one of our guests leaves with a big smile on their face.

We hope you will be coming to visit us again soon.

Stefan Kracke and the team @ Peppers Portage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent 4 days at Peppers Portage for a conference. The facilities were very good in a great location. The staff were excellent and took care of every need. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this venue for a stay or conference.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Kia Ora Steve B,

Many thanks for sharing your experience at Peppers Portage. I am very glad to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend Peppers Portage to your friends and colleagues. It was a great pleasure to host you and your teams and we are looking forward to hopefully welcoming all of you back soon.

Stefan Kracke & The Team @ Peppers Portage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed 4 days at Peppers Portage lodge for a conference. Great location, good accomodation, good food and an amazing friendly, very helpfull, top of the notch staff!!!
I would stay there anytime! and would highly recommend the stay.

Room Tip: any room is good, any view is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Kia Ora Eddy R,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Peppers Portage here. I did share your comments with my team and they are all very grateful for the compliments. It is very rewarding to see that we can make our guests happy with what we love doing and it is in our culture to treat everyone that stays with us as a friend.

We hope you will come to stay with us again in the future, it was a pleasure to have you all here.

Stefan Kracke & the Peppers Portage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Excellent service from the moment of arrival till we left, the staff where definitely the best i've ever encountered, they went out of their way to make our visit to the sounds a must do again experience

Room Tip: Pick a room where the out-side light doesn't shine right in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Kia Ora Wendy B,

Thank you very much for your time to review Peppers Portage. We are trying our best to make everyone's stay special and when we receive such nice reviews, it makes us proud of what we are doing every day. Please don't wait too long until you come back for a well deserved break and let us spoil you once again.

Stefan Kracke & the Peppers Portage Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland, NZ
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just spent a great few days at Peppers Portage on a conference. Fantastic staff that were very helpful and friendly. Great food and awesome location. The views are stunning. Variety of rooms to choose from to suit your budget - ours suited us, tucked away but still have had a view. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Kia Ora Robyn F,

I am very thankful for the review you have posted about Peppers Portage. The location of our resort is certainly one of the best in the South Island if not in New Zealand. My team and I are trying to match that with outstanding service and exquisite food and we are glad to hear that this is what you did experience during your stay here.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again here at Peppers Portage anytime soon.

Stefan Kracke & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Portage Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portage Resort Hotel

Address: 2923 Kenepuru Road | Picton, Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Peppers Portage)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Picton
#7 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portage Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself at THE PORTAGE and experience the best Marlborough has to offer. We are an ideal 2 or 3 night stay so that you can enjoy winery tours in and around Blenheim and Picton, cruising the Marlborough Sounds, walking New Zealand's famous Queen Charlotte Track, wildlife eco tours, or sea kayaking , fishing and sailing on Kenepuru Sound. Let us know your favourite adventure activity when you book and we'll arrange it for you. Food options range from quality restaurant dining featuring seafood to a cafe overlooking the spectacular Sounds view. Located 10 minutes walk from the acclaimed Queen Charlotte Track, THE PORTAGE offers a selection of accommodation from our premium Kowhai suites to two story villas and hillside sea view rooms as well as a few budget rooms. THE PORTAGE RESORT HOTEL's central location in Marlborough makes it easy to reach from all over New Zealand. Access is easy - its only 15 minutes from Picton by boat or 1.25 hours by road. Blenheim Airport has multiple flights from the major cities of Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch, every day. THE PORTAGE is your Marlborough accommodation base to explore the magic of the Marlborough Sounds on the south island of New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Portage Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portage Hotel Picton
Portage Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portage Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.