We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Portage Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Portage Resort Hotel to your Saves list
The Portage Resort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2923 Kenepuru Road | Picton, Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Peppers Portage)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Picton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed a night on our bike ride along The Track. We arrived early, before check in, our room was ready. Stayed in one of the hill side rooms. Clean, good size, balcony roomy enough to put the bikes. The hotel had a good feel, friendly and very helpful staff. Lovely pre dinner drinks on the comfortable outdoor furniture. Again, staff couldn't have been more helpful. Dinner and breakfast was one of the best meals I've had in a long time. We even had desert, to keep the delicious meal going for as long as possible. My husband is not a desert man. Unfortunately, the track beckoned and we left the next morning, rested and fired up ready for the big hills.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Kia Ora Anne H,

Many thanks to you and your husband for the very ecouraging feedback. We apreciate that you took the time to share your experiences here with other travellers.
I have shared your review with my staff and in particullar the kitchen team was very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meals very much.

Thank you once again and maybe we can welcome you again in the future.

Stefan Kracke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    73
    46
    52
    31
See reviews for
33
117
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This stay was quite disappointing and very poor value. Most highly priced accommodation on our Queen Charlotte track walk (about 30% above other equivalent establishments we stayed). The loft room was not very spacious (again compared to other stay options in the area). The requirement to pay full accommodation amount at least two weeks prior is NOT the common standard in this area and I think is an unreasonable request (when a deposit and credit card guarantee would suffice). In additon to the high prices, the hotel also imposes a 2% credit card charge that other hotels in the area do not. There were several issues with incorrect billing, and it took a supervisor to be able to be able to print a requested final bill with the payment fully showing, which led to a very slow and delayed check out. I would like to say in a more positive way that the the staff were trying to be helpful but it seemed that they needed better training. The restaurant meal we had was good quality, the packed lunch was good. Nice view but not value for room price paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Kia Ora Grant J,

Thank you very much for your comments. I am always interested to hear constructive feedback as it helps us to constantly improve our product and services.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant and also the lunch pack the following day.
I have taken your other comments on board and we have meanwhile reviewed our rates and the reservations policies. I am very sorry that there had been issues with your check-out and I have also addressed these with the relevant staff member. We have retrained both the restaurant and the reception team to avoid future occurences.

Kind regards

Stefan Kracke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was very disappointed in our stay here. There is definitely better value for money out there! The staff, although friendly, were slow and didn't seem to know what they were doing. The food was average. The rooms were nothing special. There was no air-conditioning so if you want to be cool in summer you will need to pay more for a balcony-which has very cheap, uncomfortable furniture, so you won't want to sit out for long. You pay for the view...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora Lily071,

Thank you for taking the time to share your views here. We were very fortunate to have such a great and hot summer. The buildings are all facing the sea and the evening breeze is cooling the rooms down with the air going through the open windows. The furniture on the balconies are part of the overall upgrade and some have already been replaced.
As a result of some of the reviews we have also changed our pricing strategy and we are creating special packages throughout the year which are available to book on our website.

We hope we can welcome you again to show you the progress we have made.

Stefan Kracke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Portage in eary February. The welcome we received was the best on our travels in the south, you really get the feeling that the staff are passionate about what they do and are happy. The restaurant serves nice food in a decent setting, and despite it being packed the service was attentive. The rooms unfortunately let the resort down a bit - I'd suggest they haven't been updated in a while...the flooring is obviously worn and the walls definitley need a new coat of paint; furntiure could do with being bought in to this decade as well. The views were beautiful over the sound. We'd love to come back and see the resort in all it's potential glory.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora James M,

Thank you very much for your positive review of Peppers Portage. We are very passionate about our place and really appreciate your comments. It is a great motivation to see that we are making progress in restoring the former glory of the retreat. Our chefs are sourcing almost all the ingredients for their menus locally and are using mostly produce that is in season.
We would love to welcome you back one day to show you the new rooms after the refurbishment and I thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.

Stefan Kracke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had read some mixed reviews on this board about Peppers Portage, but when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and presentable but could have used some freshening up.The food was really good and so were the wide variety of refreshing drinks. Staff - Always sharp and helpful. Never asked twice for anything. We enjoyed the summer evenings sitting outside and watching the sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kia Ora Someonelse1,

Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Peppers Portage and I passed your review on to our team members. It is a great encouragement for them. The rooms are undergoing an upgrade this winter and we are confident that you would like the new look. Hopefully you will come and visit us again, it is a great location for short break and only a short drive for you.

Stefan Kracke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We paid a high rate but were allocated a dungeon of a room. Many of the rooms have excellent views so be careful about the quality of the room that you are allocated. Some rooms are terrible. Our confirmed dinner reservations were not honoured and they interrupted all members of our group during the afternoon. They did offer to seat us at separate tables. Finally we had to eat cheaper meals in the cafe. Managers here seem to avoid customer contact (however we did not ask to talk with them). Overall it was a very disappointing visit.

Room Tip: Confirm the view that you will receive and the elevation of the room. Don't get the rooms right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Kia Ora Con_Thai_Aussie,

Thank you very much for sharing your views on Peppers Portage with us. I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I have personally reviewed your comments and spoken to all the staff members and managers that were involved in your stay.

Your group was accommodated in a variety of rooms ranging from our Kowhai Lodge rooms with large balconies and superb views, Hillside rooms with unobstructed views across the whole bay and our standard Courtyard rooms. The different rates your group members paid also reflect the different levels of standard. I have mentioned previously that some are undergoing a refurbishment at the moment but I do not agree with the comparison to dungeons.

We tried to accommodate you in our restaurant and confirmed a table for 7pm. Our staff tried to contact some of your group later only to make you aware of how busy our restaurant had become with bookings during the afternoon and attempted to find a more suitable time or different seating arrangement to avoid disappointment. Before they did this, we confirmed with the resort you stayed the previous night, that your group was dining individually. Otherwise we wouldn't have suggested this option. Our team was then informed by one member of your group that you have decided to dine in our Snapper Restaurant and Cafe on the beach. As a result of your change we were able to accept more bookings in our Te Weka restaurant.

The menu in the Snapper is differently priced as it is a Cafe style menu to give our guests the option of two different dining experiences. We tried to accommodate you there ad-hoc although no booking was made but one member of your group then decided to go back to Te Weka to dine there with 6 people. At that time all tables were booked but we advised them of the short waiting time.

I think it is also not appropriate to stipulate that the resort is poorly managed and that the managers avoid guest contact. The Restaurant and Front Office Manager were both involved and at various times in contact with you and members of your group and I was kept updated throughout the day.

It is always very sad for us to hear of guests that left unhappy and we have taken your comments on board to further improve our service levels.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your thoughts here.

Stefan Kracke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Governors Bay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Four of us had booked well ahead and had requested a two bedroom Hillside unit but we were initially allocated two separate rooms which proved to be far too hot. This was changed for a Hillside Unit but only very grudgingly.
We enjoyed our stay but after 3 nights were ready to leave. The front-of-house staff need a few lessons in customer service - any request was received as a nuisance - and the rooms are not really up to standard. Certainly not what we would expect from a Peppers Resort.
Food was OK and the restaurant staff were inexperienced but charming.
But we won't be going again. There are better places to stay in the Sounds.
Graeme B

Room Tip: Go to another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeppersPortage, General Manager at The Portage Resort Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Kia Ora GraemeGovernersBay,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that your booking was accidentally placed into a different room type. Please accept my sincere apologies for that.
The rooms are undergoing a refurbishment at the moment and I am very confident that they will meet the standards once this is completed.

I am glad that you overall enjoyed your stay and the food in our restaurant and maybe we can welcome you back at a later time to show you the improvements we have made.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.0 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
4.9 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 17 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
6.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
6.6 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portage Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portage Resort Hotel

Address: 2923 Kenepuru Road | Picton, Picton, New Zealand (Formerly Peppers Portage)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Picton
#8 Luxury Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portage Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base yourself at THE PORTAGE and experience the best Marlborough has to offer. We are an ideal 2 or 3 night stay so that you can enjoy winery tours in and around Blenheim and Picton, cruising the Marlborough Sounds, walking New Zealand's famous Queen Charlotte Track, wildlife eco tours, or sea kayaking , fishing and sailing on Kenepuru Sound. Let us know your favourite adventure activity when you book and we'll arrange it for you. Food options range from quality restaurant dining featuring seafood to a cafe overlooking the spectacular Sounds view. Located 10 minutes walk from the acclaimed Queen Charlotte Track, THE PORTAGE offers a selection of accommodation from our premium Kowhai suites to two story villas and hillside sea view rooms as well as a few budget rooms. THE PORTAGE RESORT HOTEL's central location in Marlborough makes it easy to reach from all over New Zealand. Access is easy - its only 15 minutes from Picton by boat or 1.25 hours by road. Blenheim Airport has multiple flights from the major cities of Auckland, Wellington or Christchurch, every day. THE PORTAGE is your Marlborough accommodation base to explore the magic of the Marlborough Sounds on the south island of New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your The Portage Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Portage Hotel Picton
Portage Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Portage Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.