We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views, comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Picton Beachcomber Inn

Save Saved
You added Picton Beachcomber Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Picton Beachcomber Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Waikawa Road, Picton 7372, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Picton
Bargara, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good views, comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had superb views to the harbour from our spacious and well kept room. Sitting on the balcony and debating where to have dinner was very pleasant and we chatted to a few other guests on a couple of nights. The Inn is used by tour groups and set up for that we think but, as it is not very large, this is not a problem. The local restaurants are within easy walking distance as is a supermarket.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    50
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
64
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Totally overpriced in comparison to comparable places.
The decor is getting tired as well.
The bathroom is minute to the extent that the washbasin is outside in the entrance to the room and doubles as a sink for the kitchenette.

They only serve a room service breakfast.

Dinner in the restaurant was a testimony to bad cooking and overuse of greasy food. The prawns were fried to within an inch of turning into stone, they were dark brown and tasteless.
The steaks were cheap meat also overcooked.

The reception staff were grumpy and curt.

Give this place a wide berth if you want value for your money as well as edible food.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had an excellent room overlooking the harbour. The room was clean and very well presented. It was coveniently located to all that we needed to see in Picton.I did take a little while to figure out how to access the harbour from the motel but that is a small problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We were well impressed with not only the loction but also the views. We booked this via Fly Buys and were relieved to find that they had put us into a nice room. We had a balcony with lovely views over the very well manicured lawn down below and out over the harbour and hills. It is within easy walking distance to the main shopping centre and all the restaurants are at your feet. The room was very spacious and clean and it was lovely to have heavy dark curtains to keep the light out. The only thing that was a little different was having the bathroom sink in the main area as the bathroom was quite small. Im not sure if it is like that with all the rooms though but we enjoyed our stopover here and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
161 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our second stay here. We've also stayed in Picton at the Harbour View, Jasmine Court and the truly awful Mercure, but this is the best of the lot.

I was a bit worried that the ground floor room would not have a good view, but I need not have been concerned. We drew back to curtains to look over the lawn at the blue harbour and sky. Rooms are very comfortable and stykish, though the dcor is a bit surprising. It's the sort of masculine decor with dark colours and heavy curtains you often get in business hotels, buf 95% of guests must be on holiday. Bathroom was a bit small, but there was a nice patio.

The top floor restaurant is excellent with wonderful views and I haven't found anywhere better to eat in Picton.

The hotel is much used by coach tours. This isn't a problem for other guests, though if you want to dine, check with the receptionist which time to avoid. But it does mean that the hotel is often full, so you may need to book far in advance, especially if it's for more than the odd night.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely views of sea and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had only one night here but as the saying goes "all good". Check in was friendly and efficient with all relevant details relating to our stay perfectly explained.
Location was good in a reasonably quiet part of town, a little bit of road noise but you get that most places (we are from a very quiet place) also close to everything really including a good fish & chip shop and lively Irish Bar plus liquor outlet nearby however Picton town is relatively small and a easy stroll to anywhere you wish to eat, drink or shop.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We looked all over Picton before we found this gem, the rooms differ a lot as some have been re vamped and others not so, my wife looked at two different rooms and chose one that she liked then when we were together they said that there was a room near the reception on the ground floor that goes out to a grassy area with out door tables and chairs, it was nice sitting out side over looking the harbour and we went for a lovely walk from there checking the whole place out. Its only a short stroll to some great restaurants like Le Cafe and many others.
The room was very spacious and kept clean, the bathroom was a bit dated but we only showered in there not slept! The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay here again when in Picton, which by the way is one of my favourite places in the world!

Room Tip: It was very nice on the ground floor with the out doors area, also when in Picton I highly recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Picton Beachcomber Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Picton Beachcomber Inn

Address: 27 Waikawa Road, Picton 7372, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Picton Beachcomber Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Picton Beachcomber Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Picton Beachcomber Hotel Picton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Picton Beachcomber Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.