We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you're staying in Picton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15a Otago Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A must if you're staying in Picton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We arrived at the Anchor Down B&B on the late ferry, so I checked this wasn't a problem prior to booking and we're told no problems. Upon arriving we were welcomed at the door by Janet, stored our bicycles in the garage and showed us to our room. The room was spacious, modern, all the mod-cons, very tidy and the bed super comfy. We we're riding our bicycles from Picton to Nelson the following day so wanted to get an early start, so ate, whilst chatting to our hosts at 7am. The breakfast was fantastic, everything you could imagine on offer, with the added bonus of some homemade christmas muffins put into a bag for the trip! We will definitely return next time we are in Picton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to do a review for us. We do hope the rest of your trip was enjoyable, and your track walk not too wet and your bike riding easy. We do look forward to seeing you both again. Kind regards and the best wishes for 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
43
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Wow,nothing but excellent things to say about Janet and Ian at Anchor Down! Went for a romantic weekend away with my fiancé to celebrate our anniversary and they looked after us immensely. Breakfast 5star, eggs Benedict with local salmon, plenty of wine, beer and gin and a most comfortable bed.

Would recommend Anchor down to anyone looking for a great relaxed home atmosphere with host that really look after you! Might even go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. christmas is a special time for an anniversary so I am pleased you enjoyed the special fare on offer. We look forward to seeing you and your fiance again. Kindest regards Ian and Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We said we would be back! Welcomed to Anchor Down by Janet and Ian and a glass of wine after a long day of travelling. What a relaxing end to a long day. Their house was beautifully decorated in Christmas theming, making it feel like a true home away from home. This time we were in room two, a spacious room with one queen bed and one single. The decor was fresh, tasteful and again our room was immaculately clean. We had a relaxing stay, on Janet's recommendation we went for a stroll to Bobs Bay in the Marlborough Sounds - it was absolutely stunning! Breakfast was a tasteful selection of fresh Marlborough produce, with the best salmon bagels! We were sent on our way with a few treats to keep us going - great company and such a relaxing stay once again! We recommend this to anyone wanting to escape from the world, such a relaxing spot with friendly hosts - nothing is ever a bother and their local knowledge is second to none!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you again for your lovely review. It was nice to see you back here. Wishing you a wonderful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Fabulous comfortable B and B perfect to walk the trendy but friendly eateries of Picton before boarding the inter island ferry the following day . Great friendly hosts who treat you as family and friends. I would return.

Room Tip: Downstairs back triple have easy in and out access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Donald. Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are certainly glad that you felt so comfortable in our home. It was lovely to meet you, Connor and Julie. Wishing you and your family/friends a safe and successful 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

After our ferry was running late we really enjoyed this warm and heartly welcome at Janet & Ian. They invited us to have a drink and a very nice talk.
When Janet show us our lovely room, we were very supriesed, when we get some self-made gingerbread (feeling like home )
The breakfast was very delicious and we get many information for our trip at the south island
Many thanks
Kerstin & Sascha

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Sascha and Kirsten. Thank you very much for your lovely review. We enjoyed meeting you. We will think of you on Christmas Day in beautiful Stewart Island. Safe travels and a very Merry Christmas. Iand and Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balnarring, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Loved our short stay at Anchor Down. Janet and Ian made us feel very welcome and we definitely felt like welcomed house guests, rather than paying customers. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of wine and Janet's suggestion of hiking the Queen Charlotte track was spot on. We had a great stay and will definitely be back to explore the Marlborough Sounds further. Definitely recommend this B&B without doubt. Beautiful, clean and spacious rooms. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet and Ian D, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dina thank you so much for your generous review. Ian and I enjoyed the visit from the 4 of you and hope the trip back to work was not too hard after your lovely holiday. We do hope we see you and Graham again.
kindest regards Janet and Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at Anchor Down after reading reviews on trip advisor. We were in room 3, and found the room to be exactly what we were looking for. Comfortable bed, clean room, kitchenette and peaceful setting. Great little area outside to enjoy the sunshine, and really close to town - only a short walk to the centre if Picton. Our hosts Janet and Ian were the nicest people and the breakfast was delicious - 10 points for value, we will be back on our way home.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olddix, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your very generous review. It is wonderful to know we will see you again for a return visit in December.
kind regards Janet & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Address: 15a Otago Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast is a modern home with three separate accommodation options. 1 Queen room with its own en-suite , 1 Triple room with 1 Queen bed and 1 King Single and en-suite. 1 Large room with a Queen bed, and a private external to room bathroom. We are a short 5 minute walk to the Picton waterfront and lovely cafes. A 10 minute walk and you are at the Picton Ferry Terminal. We offer a free pick up and drop off service to the Ferry between the hours of 8am and 8pm.We have free Wi-Fi, off street parking and offer a continental and cooked breakfast. Picton is a great place to start exploring the Marlborough region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.