We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury B&B in Historic Building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation

Save Saved
You added Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Oxford Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury B&B in Historic Building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A short walk from the centre of Picton found us at Sennen House with views to the Harbour. This beautifully restored early 19th century homestead in elegant gardens offers exquisite, comfortable, private accommodation with all the amenities anyone could ask for and a very generous breakfast hamper. Our hosts Lyall and Helena were attentive and helpful but discreet at the same time. We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at Sennen House and cannot recommend this Bed and Breakfast highly enough.
Sue & Graham, Perth WA

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Sennen House is a beautifully restored family home, built in the late 19th century. We received a warm welcome from Imogen and her family ( including her cats) on arrival. Our apartment (Sir Joseph Banks) was spacious with a well equipped open plan kitchen and lounge, elegantly furnished, and with views over the garden.
The breakfast provided was generous in amount and included fresh bread and fruit daily.
A short 15 mins stroll from the property took you to the centre of Picton with it's water front, shops and restaurants.
We would highly recommend this homestay particularly for visitors wanting a tranquil and unique experience and also those interested in the historical background of such properties.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Beautiful old house and gardens. We stayed in both rooms and found each very comfortable and with every convenience for an enjoyable stay. Located within easy recah of all of the many attarctions of Picton. Imogen made us most welcome and was able to provide information about all the attractions of the area. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

Staying at Sennen House was a real treat. The house and gardens are beautiful; tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Generous breakfast. A warm welcome from Imogen and her family. Highly recommended! - Orr family, Brisbane.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Historic Sennen House is a lovely home, lovingly restored and maintained by it's owners. We could not have had a more pleasant stay there and I recommend it over all other luxury properties in the area. It is tasteful and understated with distinctive attention to every detail. The indoor space and the outdoor gardens are the quiet type of quality. Tasteful...Relaxing...Welcoming...Convenient.
Gaile and Fam

Room Tip: not needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Sennen House has been lovingly preserved as a heritage house. The rooms are beautiful and the location is great-only a short walk to the harbour. Imogen, the owner, is very welcoming and helpful. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed one night at this beautifully restored historic house on our way through Picton to catch the ferry back to the North Island. We got a warm welcome and our accommodation was in a well equipped comfortable annex attached to the main house with good inside and outside space. We had a very relaxing time in tranquil surroundings.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation

Address: 9 Oxford Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 1886 heritage villa restored in keeping with its gracious style and era to offer three charming and comfortable self-contained first floor accommodation options. Luxury linens, private entrance, generous daily breakfast hampers, sunny balcony, formal gardens, native bush and abundant birdlife, only a short stroll to Picton’s restaurants, waterfront, track transport and wine tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.