We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation to your Saves list
Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Oxford Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have never stayed anywhere before where I was made to feel so very welcome. It was more like staying with a good friend than in a hotel. Imogen is the most perfect host you could wish for. She picked me up from the train and then dropped me at the ferry a couple of days later and inbetween, nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend this hotel to everyone staying in Picton. I challenge anyone to find anywhere better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

The hotel has been lovingly restored to retain the feel and features of a Victorian house making it a wonderful experience for a holiday in the Sounds. Breakfast on the veranda was pure relaxation: listening to the birds and watching the sun clear the mist from the green hills. The kitchen is fully equipped and the bathroom is clean and up-to-date. The hosts directed the restoration of the house in a professional capacity with a pleasing attention to detail and an insistence on high standards. Highly recommended as a base to explore Blenheim, the Sounds and the walking trails.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed three nights at Sennen House which is an elegant nineteenth century property, located about 10 minutes walk from Picton harbour/centre. Sennen House was not fully booked when we arrived, and the owners gave us a room upgrade at no additional cost. The ‘room’ was a comfortable and tastefully furnished apartment, unlike a typical B&B room.

Everything is provided for guests to prepare their own breakfasts in the room/apartment. Each is different; ours had a kitchenette with oven/hob, kettle, toaster and microwave. Fresh fruit, yoghurts, milk, butter and juices were replenished in the refrigerator every day, along with breads, cereals, jams/honey and eggs.

The owners live in the house next door, but they were available to offer useful advice on restaurants/cafes, places to visit and trips to take. They helpfully booked a Marlborough wine tour for us; and when we departed, they kindly drove us to the Picton ferry terminal as by then we had returned the hire car.

Guests have use of their own small ‘study’ with complimentary internet access and a library of books and DVDs to borrow (television/DVD in rooms).

This is a quiet, secluded property towards the edge of Picton, and because of the layout, you may not see any other guests.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We totally enjoyed our stay at Sennen House. The apartment that we had was roomy, bright and very comfortable.
One of the best parts about this accomodation was the daily "hamper" that was delivered to your kitchen: juice milk, eggs a plate of fresh fuit, sometimes breakfast meat, containers of fresh grains and cereal, a basket of fresh bread, jams, butter and other spreads, and of course coffee and tea.
The location was very good for exploring the Marlborough Sounds, the wineries around Blenheim, Queen Charlotte Drive, etc. Even a drive to the Nelson area is doable.
Richard and Imogen, the owners, love New Zealand and they are a wealth of information re places to go and things to see.
So in short, we found it to be a great accomodation!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

The Sennen House is tucked up next to the hills and is absolutely beautiful! We stayed in the Edwin Fox suite, which is huge. It has a large bedroom, huge living dining room with a fireplace, small kitchen and large bathroom. The house is nestled back in a lush lovely garden. it is a 25 minute drive to Belheim for wine tasting. If you are planning on taking the ferry across the sound you are five minutes from the port. Althought a little out of the way the luxury of the house makes up for that. A lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Picton is a lovely little place, but from the big smile that greeted us on arrival to the farewell after 3 nights everything was perfect about Sennen House. It is a bit different and you will have read their web-site, but it is also all the little extras that make the difference. Yes, the bowl of fruit, the little chocolates, the port etc, were all most welcome, but they really have thought of just about everything to make you feel more than a paying guest. The room was extemely comfortable, but the whole place just has a warmth that we loved. The breakfast hamper provided was also very generous and we actually liked the freedom it gave us, and what a treat to be able to sit on the balcony watching the sheep. If you want something a little different and really rather special book Sennen House.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2009

We had a very comfortable stay at Sennen House. It was immaculately clean with welcoming hosts.

There were also very thoughtful touches such as little cakes provided each day. The breakfast supplied was more than adequate with a selection of fruit, cereals, yoghurt, breads, teas, coffee and juice. It was an in-room breakfast that you catered for yourself - much better than having to smile and make nice to strangers over the breakfast table each morning!

Picton is only about a 20 minute drive from the main Marlborough region wineries and I think a prettier place to stay than the closer Blenheim. Bit of a lack of serious food in Picton, but if you're eating at the winery restaurants a lunchtime you don't really need to double up at dinner time.

Just to note that as it is an older house it isn't perhaps a soundproof as a more modern building ie you can clearly hear doors banging and conversations next door. But I think all the guests during our stay were aware of this and were considerate of the other guests.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.6 mi away
Escape to Picton Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.5 mi away
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kippilaw House
Kippilaw House
#2 of 24 in Picton
5.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Echo Lodge
Echo Lodge
#3 of 24 in Picton
5.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gateway Motel Picton Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation

Address: 9 Oxford Street, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 1886 heritage villa restored in keeping with its gracious style and era to offer three charming and comfortable self-contained first floor accommodation options. Luxury linens, private entrance, generous daily breakfast hampers, sunny balcony, formal gardens, native bush and abundant birdlife, only a short stroll to Picton’s restaurants, waterfront, track transport and wine tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Historic Sennen House Boutique Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.