We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel that feels like home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Sequoia Lodge
3a Nelson Square, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A hostel that feels like home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Everything about Sequoia Lodge was inviting and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and happy to help. The beds were comfy (the bunks didn't creak in the dorms) and there were free hot water bottles to use. The free breakfast, free internet and free chocolate pudding were the things that really made this hostel stand out from others in the same price range. There is even a Facebook page dedicated to the pudding! Definitely a worthwhile place to stay. If we are ever back in Picton we will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
37
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

The hot, chocolate pudding and ice cream in the evenings is a very nice treat. Much appreciated, and serves to gather all guests together. The manager kindly booked a water taxi for our walk on the Queen Charlotte Track. The walls are a bit thin between the queen rooms, and there was no hanging closet, just two hooks. Busy hostel, nice staff.

Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

We stayed one night at the Sequoia Lodge as we came in on water taxi between lodges on the Queen Charlotte Track. We are senior travelers and had an ensuite room. We stored our big backpacks at the iSite so only had small overnight packs for the walk to the Lodge. It isn't far and worth it to get out of the hustle of the harbor area. Lynsey welcomed us and was fantastic about answering questions. My husband could hardly wait for the chocolate pudding and was not disappointed. We ate at the pub across the park, Black Crow I think and it was very reasonable in cost and tasty. Be sure to check out the Swedish Bakery--the best!
The Lodge was packed when we were there but noise was well controlled. As is typical in Kiwi backpackers, the kitchen was busy but most folks cleaned up after themselves. Our room was quiet until some folks checked in about 10:30 but they settled down after a while. The free internet was a great asset.
We'd stay again and recommend it to anyone wanting reasonably priced, clean lodging in Picton.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Good value hostel, well-managed and clean. Free chocolate pudding is excellent, although kitchen can get a little crowded when hostel is busy. It's not far from town - 500m at most, so don't let the location put you off as the welcome is friendly , there's a lovely park in front of the hostel and, well, there's not much in Picton town as it is! Rooms are basic, though for this price you'll be hard pressed to find anything more luxurious.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Lots of extras for the back packers, free chocolate cake and icecream derest and free breakfast. Freindly and helpful staff. Basic but clean and maintained facilties. Very busy when we visited!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

The service was friendly and informative from the booking to arrival and during the stay. The lodge suited our needs as we were given two of the larger rooms for our school group which also had their own bathrooms. The attraction of the free hot tub was a plus as was the chocolate pudding and inclusive breakfast. Parking was available too. The rooms were clean with comfortable beds and good heating.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We've been to Sequoia Lodge a few times now and I love it. The staff are friendly and really helpful, there's heaps of space and great clean kitchen facilities. Love the outdoor courtyard, the hammocks, the games and mags and fireplace - all of it. It's great value for money and we'll definitely be going back next time we pass through Picton.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.