We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely homey Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sequoia Lodge to your Saves list
Sequoia Lodge
3a Nelson Square, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely homey Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I've actually stayed here twice, the first time it was amazing. We were just out side of the busy season and the place felt just like home, the woman who runs the place with her husband was incredibly friendly and very helpful.
The room I stayed in was clean, cosy and I liked how each bed had it's own shelf and bedside light - after staying in quite a few hostels these are a big plus! There's also extra blankets and hot water bottles if you want it. The other great plus is there's free chocolate pudding each night which is yummy!
The second stay was in the middle of high season and everything was just as lovely but it was much busier and so not quite so homey, however even with the place packed it was a great hostel.

There's also a TV room, free internet (which works great when it's not busy but is very slow when everyone is trying to access it) as well as a hot tub and some hammocks.

All in all if you're in picton it's a great place to choose and I would definitely stay again if I find myself in Picton again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    36
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
37
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Awesome hostel! Stayed here a few times with our hiking groups before heading to Abel Tasman. Great spot and excellent value with the chocolate pudding gathering every evening. Friendly staff and well designed/stocked kitchen. Stay here if traveling through Picton!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We showed up a little later than expected, but the were very accommodating. Get there early and make use of the hot tub...it gets reserved quickly. Free wifi, and great accommodations. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. thomas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

One of the best hostels I've stayed in. Service is friendly and very helpful. When I asked them about local boat Marlborough Sounds tours, they recommended the Dolphin Cruise and Bird Sanctuary Tour (book here a week in advance for a discount: http://www.bookme.co.nz/bookings/abel-tasman-nelson-picton/activity/picton-dolphin-cruise-bird-sanctuary/834), and it was great! Place is clean, quiet (but busy and lively enough around dinnertime to visit with people. You get free access to unlimited wifi, hot tub, chocolate pudding (like American chocolate cake with icing) at 8pm every night. They have an iron, ironing board, and hairdryer you can borrow as well. Free towels available if you ask for them. Linens included. Woke up a couple times due to traffic on main road outside, but not too bad. A ten-minute walk to town. Stayed here two nights in a private room (shared bathrooms). I'd highly recommend it (and the cruise!).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

only good words can describe my stay at Sequoia Lodge Backpackers! I arrived late to the lodge, because of the ferry from Wellington and they were waiting for me to help with the accommodation ;) really nice people working here, so friendly. you get everything you need: blankets, heaters, iron, transport from/to the ferry, all necessary kitchen stuff, tours information and so on. And....they prepare every evening a delicious chocolate pudding for all the customers. It is quite and extremely clean, more than my own place!
I completely recomend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here one night with my girlfriend. We arrived late into Picton at about 9:15pm on the coach which dropped us off outside the hostel. Thankfully the owner was still working on the reception when we arrived. There was also some chocolate sticky pudding left, just enough for the two of us, so we helped ourselves to a bowl of this and it was just what we needed after a long tiring bus journey. Delicious! We stayed in a 4 person dorm, the room was more spacious than most 4 dorm rooms but the beds weren't the comfiest in the world. The showers were fine, the kitchen area is pretty spacious although we only used it the morning we left to make coffee and some cereals, it might get a bit crowded in there on an evening. We got a free drop off to the ferry terminal when we left which was very handy. 3.5 / 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziano di Fiemme, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed two night in the small town of Picton and had a great time at Sequoia Lodge. Awesome staff, very friendly and talkative, clean kitchen (awesome! They provide free oil salt herbs and spices!) clean bathrooms and room! Make sure you spend more than one night here so that you don't miss out the nice hikes around Picton and the 8pm chocolate pudding!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 3a Nelson Square, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our friendly, relaxed, family owned hostel. The Spa pool’s bubbling hot, the fire’s roaring, it’s warm. Great music’s playing and the people are friendly & genuine. Free Hot Chocolate pudding & ice cream served every night of the year. Free all you can eat breakfast every morning, all year. Free wireless internet. Sky TV on the big screen. Free Bikes. Car Parking. Central location. Our sister hostel’s in Nelson, Tasman Bay Backpackers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.