We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Vista Waterfront Motel to your Saves list
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BOOK DIRECT for BEST DEAL
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Picton
Akaroa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“best views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

arrived late, the host had warmed the room up for us, advised us were to eat which was good.
only stayed one night which was unfortunate as we didn't get to see the best of the area. This motel was in Waikawa Bay so very quiet and views to die for. The room was a good size and the bathroom was a great size. we will stay there again and next time arrive early to enjoy the views.

Room Tip: nice and quiet good sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    25
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
45
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your motel and still regret it was only for one night. Next time we are in Picton, you will see us again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this motel, just a short distance from Picton. The surroundings were more peaceful and the view of Waikawa Bay from our unit was a delight to wake up to, or to contemplate over a glass of wine as the sun set. The accommodation was comfortable and spacious enough, with a separate bedroom. Our hosts were most welcoming and helpful in regard to local attractions. Excellent value and we would stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss Plateau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

We were planning to stay just two nights, but in the end spent four nights at this wonderful motel in the magnificent Marlborough Sounds.
The drive into and back from town (where just about everything is happening) was a little annoying at times, but on the other hand the location was really relaxed and quiet with none of the bustling of downtown. The views over the sound were simply stunning, we experienced several beautiful sunsets happening right in front of our window.
The staff was tremendously friendly and helpful, always inquiring about our adventures and suggesting things to do. Kitchen and bathroom where well equipped, modern and functional.
All in all a thoroughly recommendable motel. The one downside was the patchy Wifi reception in the lower units where we were located.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

It really was all about the location. Stayed for 4 nights in a lovely little unit overlooking the sweeping lawn down to the water.There are only 7 units so it was very quiet and everything that we needed was provided. Very 80's decor but very very homely - great staff especially Lurline who could not help enough with recommendations as to where to go, what to see and so on.
All in all a very enjoyable stay away from the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed for four nights, would have liked to enjoy the view much longer, which every unit has. Well appointed rooms, lovely host and one of the best seafood restaurants ever in walking distance (Spinnaker). Tipp: Do the Dolphin Watch Eco-Tour Cruise! .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Excellent location, good clean rooms. Extremely helpful and friendly manager. Our best motel accommodation yet and would have happily stayed here longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Vista Waterfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Vista Waterfront Motel

Address: 303 - 307 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Picton
#5 Family Hotel in Picton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bay Vista Waterfront Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular waterfront location! All units at Bay Vista Waterfront Motel are situated on the waters edge in Picton's beautiful Waikawa Bay only 5 minutes drive from the town centre. Set in 2 acres of park like grounds these 7 ground floor units are all self contained with sky TV and stunning views of the Bay and Waikawa Marina. Take a short 5 minute stroll over to the restaurants/cafes located at the marina or down to the swimming bay and boat launching ramp. Wake up to the sound of the native birds and enjoy a coffee on your private patio in the sun. Relax in peace and quiet away from all road noise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Vista Waterfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Vista Waterfront Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Vista Waterfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.