We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop at Havelock for the best green-lipped mussels!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marlborough Sounds

Marlborough Sounds
Picton, New Zealand
64 3 577 5587
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Picton
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Severna Park, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Stop at Havelock for the best green-lipped mussels!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Take the Queen Charlotte Drive from Picton and you'll wind up at Havelock at Pelorus Sound. Havelock is known for being the center of New Zealand's green-lipped mussels industry so I knew if I was going to try them I should do it here. As it turns out this little cafe offered them for a bargain. Normally I'd expect to enjoy mussels in a fancy restaurant or seaside on a picnic table but I gave it a try and they were delicious. Some times you just get lucky!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    23
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sailing the Marlborough Sounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have cruised around the Sounds for many years. We have sailed our own boat, chartered boats, driven the coasts and traveled on commercial boats. Each method brings to life different versions of the Sounds and each is memorable. The Dolphin Watch trip pleases all ages and is guaranteed to entrance. There are so many safe and peaceful anchorages, mostly to be had without another boat in sight. There can be storms, but the majority of days are bright and sunny. Warm nor'westerlies blow in the summer, but the winter weather can be magically calm and beautiful.
Visitors often allocate too little time to this piece of paradise.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“After travelling the world for more years than I care to remember, I finally found paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

The Marlborough Sounds, are completely spectacular. Visit the anchorages used by Capt James Cook, enjoy the fantastic fishing, soak up the history, visit magnificent isolated lodges with great cuisine, and above all relax!

My recommendation is that you hire your own vessel, try Charterlink, and spend a few days simply exploring this magnificent waterway!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cycled the QC track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The sounds are really beautiful and the water clarity and colour are very special. If doing this track by mountain bike insist on a gel seat or take your own as the hire place we chose did not really show much interest in providing these. We chose to cycle from Anakiwa to Picton which was a picturesque ride and really quite easy at that time of the year with minimal traffic about.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Spectular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

the marlborough sounds is just an amazing area to go to when you are in picton, you can kayak or take a boat around or even walk

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough Sounds also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Marlborough Sounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlborough Sounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.