We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlborough Sounds

Marlborough Sounds
Picton, New Zealand
64 3 577 5587
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$57*
and up
Picton Shore Excursion: Marlborough Wine Region...
Ranked #1 of 30 things to do in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St Neots
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Spectacularly pretty. We did a short walk along the Queen Charlotte track to Furneaux Lodge. It is idyllic.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    28
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Everything within walking distance. Plenty of choices when it comes to dining. Nice walking tracks with great views.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Everyone must visit Marlborough if they get a chance,the scenery is stunning, you get to see dolphins and swim with them if you wish. Also do not miss the Dolphin watch ecotours, we did the trip to Motuara island bird sanctuary,it was the highlight of my holiday. We saw Bottlenose and Hectors dolphins, fur seals, a King Shag, and on the island close up encounters with Saddlebacks, Bellbirds, black Robins and Yellow crowned parakeets. The tour guides and the captain were wonderful full of interesting info about the sounds and the islands.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

What a wonderful part of our beautiful country. It was so remote that we saw many more stars than in the city!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
224 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Hike it? Nope, we cruised it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hubby and I needed an easier, less physical way to see Queen Charlotte Sound and some of the Marlborough Sound area that tramping/camping it. We were very pleased to find a 2-night scalloping cruise aboard the Affinity. Yes, we did numerous dredges for scallops, helped bring them aboard, sorted, them, sized them, cleaned them, cooked them and ate them down. Yum!

We explored the many coves in the area including famous Ship's Cove where Captain Cook came ashore 6 times during his years exploring New Zealand. We also went ashore at Motuara Island Preserve; beautiful scenery (though it's an uphill hike all the way) and some wonderful endemic birds.

While not a luxury cruise, it was very comfortable, we met the nicest people and we didn't have to do the cooking or cleaning up. Check it out! http://www.affinitycruises.co.nz/

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marlborough Sounds also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Queenstown, Otago Region
 

Been to Marlborough Sounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlborough Sounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.