We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Fun Cruises

Beachcomber Fun Cruises
The Waterfront, Picton, New Zealand
+64 3-573 6175
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$59*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family owned and operated, Beachcomber Fun Cruises is one of the major operators on the Queen Charlotte Track and take great pleasure in offering a selection of boat trips through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds - these include their world famous Magic Mail Run and a host of Scenic Cruises, easy and quick day trips are covered with their lunch'n'cruises. They also have a host of flexible trips that let customers explore the wonderful Queen Charlotte Track. Beachcomber Fun Cruises is a Qualmark endorsed visitor activity.
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Superior Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We were thru-hiking the Te Araroa and decided to take a ride with Beachcomber Fun Cruises to the start of the Queen Charlotte Track. Everything was perfect and everyone was super nice. However, special thanks goes to Jessica who really was out of her way friendly and supportive of TA hikers. Thank you so much for your incredible help, Jessica. We wish any company would have such a great customer service and are happy to fully recommend this company.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Hi there 1_noname_1

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased your experience with us was a good one and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful.
Its great for our staff to read such positive comments and know that they are appreciated.

We hope to see you back in Picton in the future.

Kind regards
The team at Beachcomber Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    32
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cruising from Picton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Living locally we use the Beachcomber when ever travelling down the Sounds and love to 'show off' our beautiful location to our visitors and relations. Staff ashore and on board are very, knowledgeable , exceptionally friendly and helpful. The 'Fun-Cruises' are just that, FUN, their fleet of boats are warm and comfortable with free hot drinks, they'll take you to your destination and around one of the most beautiful water ways in the world, the Queen Charlotte Sounds.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi pingyloo

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your time in the Queen Charlotte Sounds with us and its always great for us to read such positive reviews. I will also pass this onto Jason.
We look forward to welcoming you again if you are ever in Picton.

The team at Beachcomber Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I cannot recommend this company enough! From the first point of contact by phone to the end of our cruise the service was exceptional. Jason and his team are extremely knowledgable of the area and passionate about what they do. We had an elderly lady on board with us that found it hard to get on and off the boat and Jason went above and beyond to make her cruise one to remember.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hi Roni

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are pleased to hear that you had a great time with us. Its always great for us to read such positive feedback.

We look forward to you joining us again if you return to Picton.
Thanks again
The team at Beachcomber Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We highly recommend beachcombers to transfer you from Picton to Queen Charlotte's track! They transferred all of our heavy luggage from each B&B every morning. So by the time we hiked to our B&B the luggage was on the door step when we arrived. On the last day, they even arrange for another taxi service to come pick us up to ensure that they got us on time. We really appreciated their quality service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Wendy
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Queen Charlotte Sounds,
Looking forward to seeing you in Picton next time.
Thanks again
The team at Beachcomber Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Have Beachcomber transfer all the heavy stuff you usually have to carry so it's waiting at your campsite every night? Hell yes!
We spent three days walking the QC track, and from start to finish the Beachcomber team were professional, friendly and reliable. I also really liked the fact that when they say they'll depart at 8AM, that's exactly what they do - sleep in and you'll be waiting for the next shuttle, just the way it should be.
Excellent value for the price, and highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hi Kent and Michelle
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Queen Charlotte Sounds and found our service helpful and cost effective,
Looking forward to seeing you in Picton next time.
Thanks again
The team at Beachcomber Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Fun Cruises also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Beachcomber Fun Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Fun Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.