We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picton Mail Run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Fun Cruises

Beachcomber Fun Cruises
The Waterfront, Picton, New Zealand
+64 3-573 6175
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$59*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family owned and operated, Beachcomber Fun Cruises is one of the major operators on the Queen Charlotte Track and take great pleasure in offering a selection of boat trips through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds - these include their world famous Magic Mail Run and a host of Scenic Cruises, easy and quick day trips are covered with their lunch'n'cruises. They also have a host of flexible trips that let customers explore the wonderful Queen Charlotte Track. Beachcomber Fun Cruises is a Qualmark endorsed visitor activity.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Picton Mail Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Half a day very well spent. Weather was delightful, commentary, accomodation, and scenery all excellent.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
HI Brian,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Queen Charlotte Sounds,
We hope to see again sometime.
Thanks again
The team at Beachcomber Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    32
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great , but misinformed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We booked the "Sunday afternoon Cruise" for four adults, staff and cruise have been great but!
A boat had broken down and the Sunday Cruise became quite different .
We understand the breakdown but not being told by sales staff was not good, we did not take water or food understanding we had tea/ coffee on board.
Very thirsty on return to Picton, the only saving " Grace" was Jason our driver , he saved the day.
Without committed people like him we would of complained in a big way . Go Jason

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us,
We are glad to hear that your enjoyed the Queen Charlotte Sounds and our skipper Jason.
We are very sorry you were no informed about the change of boat, we do apologise for this, and glad that Jason made your day.
Sorry once again, we do appreciate your feed back and will make sure others are informed of boat changes in future
The team at Beachcomber Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

A group of 13 of us used Beachcomber Cruises earlier this week. We chartered a boat to transport ourselves and our 13 bikes to Ships Cove to the start of the Queen Charlotte Track. They transported our bags to hotels for each nights stay, and then picked us and our bikes up from Anakiwa on our last day and transported us back to Picton. They were very professional, helpful, and assisted our driver to grab an earlier ferry back to Wellington with our bikes. All in all, a great bunch of people, even when they had to deal with a group of 12 men (even when a couple had gone somewhat rogue during the trip) and myself. We had no issues with timings, and they were incredible to deal with when booking. Well done Beachcomber! I will be recommending you to anyone else heading to the Sounds.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
HI,
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review for us,
We are so glad to hear that you all enjoyed your bike trip on the Queen Charlotte Track.
Great to hear that everything went as planned and that you got back in time to catch the earlier ferry.
We hope to see you again in Picton.
The team at Beachcomber Cruises,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Cyclists - this one is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

the second time I have biked the track. Last time I went with a different boat company and was a bit dismayed when my bike was simply placed on the back deck - on top of other bikes - got very wet and was vulnerable to scratches . This time I wrapped my bike up to protect derailers etc but to my delight Beachcomber have purpose built bike racks on the roof - bike up high and dry and in no contact with other bikes.
We had booked a pick up at Anakiwa on day 2 to get us back to Picton- our car and luggage - but when we got to Anakiwa earlier than planned we decided to bike back to picton. Having left a message for the boat not to wait for us because we had gone ahead we biked onto Picton. Claimed our bags and asked on the off chance if there was a refund or credit for the part of our trip we had not used. Was delighted to get a call today to say $27 had been refunded back to my credit card. Awesome service- very friendly - great bike carrier. Highly reccomend.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a great review for us,
We are glad that you enjoyed your time on the Queen Charlotte Track and that you found our services just what you wanted and the staff friendly.
We hope to see you again in Picton
Many thanks
The team at Beachcomber Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Efficient and helpful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We used Beachcomber Cruises as part of our package with Wilderness Guides Queen Charlotte Sound Track walk. The skipper on the Picton to Ship Cove was very knowledgeable of the area's history and provided a fascinting commentary. He slowed the boat so we could enjoy watching a pod of dolphins. The company moved our luggage each day and always got it to the right destination, on time. We were picked up at our final destination on the last day of our walk and were impressed by the skiper's skill in single-handedly managing the loading and tying up at the docks.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
HI,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your walk on the Queen Charlotte Track, some of our wildlife, and the commentary and skills of our fantastic skippers.
We hope to see you in Picton again
Many thanks
The team at Beachcomber Cruises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Fun Cruises also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Beachcomber Fun Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Fun Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.