We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beachcomber Fun Cruises

Beachcomber Fun Cruises
The Waterfront, Picton, New Zealand
+64 3-573 6175
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$59*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family owned and operated, Beachcomber Fun Cruises is one of the major operators on the Queen Charlotte Track and take great pleasure in offering a selection of boat trips through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds - these include their world famous Magic Mail Run and a host of Scenic Cruises, easy and quick day trips are covered with their lunch'n'cruises. They also have a host of flexible trips that let customers explore the wonderful Queen Charlotte Track. Beachcomber Fun Cruises is a Qualmark endorsed visitor activity.
Geelong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Terrific service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Our group enjoyed a wonderful cruise on the Beachcomber Fun Cruises to start our Queen Charlotte walk. Excellent commentary, helpful service from booking in, to the movement of our luggage each day and collection of our group at Anakiwa.
Well done Beachcomber team, you make it easy for us to come back each time!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hey Plumma,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time on the Queen Charlotte Track and that you enjoyed our service.
We hope that you come back and make the most of the track again soon.
Look forward to seeing you next time.
The crew at Beachcomber Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    32
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Memories re visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

As a boy my husband travelled often on his father's launch in the Marlborough Sounds and had not been back for many years. We took the Mail Boat trip which went down the Tory Channel and went out to Ships Cove and Endeavour Inlet. Although it was a drizzly day, the trip was still fabulous and the Skipper's narrative interesting and informative. We highly recommend this trip. Many thanks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi PLR47

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate it. We are so pleased you had a good trip down memory lane on your cruise with us.

The Team at Beachcomber Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I decided on nature´s best walk and the bird island. The boat took me there, with some nice comments about the area along the way. Plenty of time to complete your walk before the boat picks you up again. For only $78 !

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi Marieke
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. We really appreciate it.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your walk on the Queen Charlotte Track and look forward to you joining us again next time you visit Picton.

The Team at Beachcomber Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well worth the money, but unhelpful travel advice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I completed the Queen Charlotte track with beachcomber cruises, getting dropped at Ship Cove and picked up at Anakiwa. It is a fantastic service, where your bags/tent etc is taken to each stopover each day. The camp sites along the way are fantastic and for the money the service is excellent. BUT make sure you know what you are doing before you book. The help I recieved about places to make overnight stops was terrible. Your bags are actually dropped at the end of Jetty's which you have to find before you get to your chosen camp site. You have to replace them at the same Jetty every morning, which is often quite a distance from your camp site.
The biggest disaster was at Portage where your bags are dropped the wrong side of the fiord (about 30mins walk from the camp site or lodging after having done 24km from Punga). This was our last stop with a 20k walk the next day so I asked Beachcomber if there were hostels at Portage. I was told there were not and the we would have to camp. This is nonsense, there are two backpacker hostels at Portage but they get booked up a few days in advance. When we got to Portage we tried to stay in the hostel, but it was fully booked. Thanks beachcomber.
Use beachcomber but don't trust their advice! And make sure you are clear about where your bags are being dropped. Or they will end up in the sea!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello JonBoy_10
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you didn't experience the service you were expecting.
As far as we can remember you were quite a big group that arrived after our check in time so we all did our best to make sure you still caught the boat.
We explain to all of our customers walking the Queen Charlotte Track that if you are staying at the camp sites that your bags are left unattended at the jetties and that they are not delivered directly at the camp site.
In response to you having to walk an extra 30 minutes over the hill, you would have been given the option of paying the Peppers Portage Resort to transport your bags to their hotel to save you this longer walk.
You would also have been advised that there are resorts, hotels and backpackers and hostels, if not next to the camp site they would be close by. If you are wanting to stay at accommodation, you do have to book in advance to make sure there is availability. If you wanted to stay in the backpackers, we would have been more than happy to make the call and ask if there was availability on that specific night but we were not asked to do this.
We take great care with your luggage and belongings. Your bags will not end up in the sea and we can guarantee this. You are also offered free maps in the office which will show you the accommodation options along the track.
If you would like to discuss this anymore we are more than happy to do so by phone or email.
Many thanks
The Team at Beachcomber Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“a good way to spend an afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

went on the thursday mail run cruise and was a great way to spend and afternnon. very informative and a good way to see the sound.you get to get of the boat for about 15min a ship cove to look at capt cook monument aswell. well worth the money and time to do.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachcomberPicton, Front Office Manager at Beachcomber Fun Cruises, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello gg4037,
Thank you for your post on trip advisor, we appreciate you taking the time to write.
It’s great to hear that you enjoys your time about our Mail Boat Run.
We hope to see you back in Picton for another trip on our Magic Mail Run, the only licensed delivery service in the Sounds.
Thanks
The Crew at Beachcomber Cruises
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Fun Cruises also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Beachcomber Fun Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beachcomber Fun Cruises, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.