We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to enjoy cooking and gourmet food here~” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kippilaw House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Kippilaw House to your Saves list
Kippilaw House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   98 Waikawa Road, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great to enjoy cooking and gourmet food here~”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I had a great time with Margaret today ...she taught me about kiwi food and many things.
That was my best day ever in NZ.....and the room of the house is just too good to be true!!!
Nice and warm~hope you enjoy just like me!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

If you're in need of a treat and want to feel a bit pampered then I can't think of anywhere better than Margaret and Bill's B&B. We spent Christmas Day here and were looked after so well, ate such amazing food and drank such lovely local wine we completely forgot to feel homesick and miss our families! Kippilaw is super convenient for the Picton ferry (if you're lucky, you might even be met at the port) and the rooms are spacious, uncluttered (contrary to someone else's review) and comfortable. A big thanks to Margaret and Bill for making our Christmas so special and for feeding us up before we went off on our adventures in the Abel Tasman and Kaikoura.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kippilaw, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
It made our Christmas having fun bubbly guests enjoying our home, partaking in Christmas and all its fare.Being a caterer all our guests are suitable feed and go on their away with a couple of goodies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We are from the netherlands and enjoyed our xmas 2011 at the kippilaw house with Margaret and Bill. We had a fantastic xmas diner and had loads of fun and were treated very nicely. We had a downstairs room with open doors to the garden which allowed us to have breakfast in the garden. Service was great, food was lovely and the hosts ossom.
If you neer a good, relaxing and nice place to stay, go to the Kippilaw House!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

This little gem in Picton is not to be missed!

We were a family of six so we were able to book the entire place. It felt like we were living in the most charming little cottage that was just an easy 10 minute walk to the town centre. The bedrooms and bathrooms and beautifully done, the living room was spacious, and the view from the Master's bedroom would make anyone's heart melt.

Margaret and Bill were the most wonderful hosts who made us incredible breakfasts (her homemade croissants are to die for) and gave us all the best tips to explore Marlborough. I don't think you'll find anything of this quality at such an affordable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Thank you for your possitive comments it is always a pleasure hosting visitors who love to travel, enjoy meeting and staying with local folk and experiencing what they have to offer.

I did appreciate you sharing some of your countries popular recipes with us . Happy days
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This is a bed and breakfast but Margaret does cooking classes also for guests and other parties interested. Her depth of experience in the hospitality/food industry shines through along with entertaining tales of life and working with well known celebraties. The classes can be taylor made to suit whatever your interests are, from how to fillet a rabbit for terrine to scrumptious desserts to compliment a four course meal. Our small group immensely enjoyed the many cooking tips passed on how to make life easier/smarter in the kitchen and we also sampled the various wares as they came hot out of the oven!! It was a very worthwhile and entertaining morning and would recommend anyone wanting a fun experience with memories that stay with you long after to contact Margaret.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, December 12, 2011
Yes we did have fun, cooking can be taken too seriously.

I am delighted you enjoyed your time at the cooking school and went away with loads of suggestions and ideas that can make your lives more pleasuarable in the kitchen.

Cooking and eating is a necssity in life, it is vital for your well being that you enjoy preparing, experimenting and eating the goodiess you have prepared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Generally when travelling on my own on business I choose to stay in a hotel, on this occasion I stumbled upon Kippilaw House. I had all the privacy I needed with my own bathroom and beautiful bedroom. So many surprises.... I thought it was an old house but it is new and beatuifuly appointed. Margaret the owner was just lovely and her husband Bill was a great host. I had dinner with them and breakfast again before I left in the morning. (Food was yummy!!) Unlike staying in a hotel I felt like I had been away for the night with friends!! I will certainly be returning to stay the next time I am anywhere near Picton.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed with Margaret and Bill at Kippilaw House one night late July and returned for two more nights in August. Beautiful large upstairs ensuited bedroom plus sitting room and views over Picton. Very peaceful. Great hosts, the food just mouthwatering. Margaret produces the most scrumptious food from local Marlbouough produce... the salmon, the mussels, the goat curry, the freshest of vegetables and the wonderful dessert the waistline doesn't need. Margaret will conjure up your hearts desire!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Kippilaw House, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
It was our pleasure to have you as our guests. We enjoyed providing a table of locally sourced food, offering local wines and spending time with you talking about the Marlborough Sounds where you had spent your younger days.
As experienced Hospitality Hosts of many years it is always a delight to know one is appreciated for the extra service provided.

Margaret is a trained chef of 30years experience , many years owning and operating Visitor accommodation, restaurants and catering companies.
Bill has been in Hospitality managment and the Tourism industry in Scotland and New Zealand for many some years.
Kind wish to you both call again if passing through for a cup of tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kippilaw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kippilaw House

Address: 98 Waikawa Road, Picton, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kippilaw House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel relaxed at home at Kippilaw House walk in as guests and leave as friends.We are a few minutes walk to the waters edge of Marlborough Sounds, cafes and various activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kippilaw House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kippilaw House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.