We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old house - perfect location and great hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gables

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Gables to your Saves list
The Gables
20 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 24 Picton B&B and Inns
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely old house - perfect location and great hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a perfect stay here, huge bedroom overlooking Picton and 2 mins walk into town.

Ian and Paula made us very welcome and can organize anything you want to do in the area.

We walked the first section of the Queen Charlotte trail and we had a great day.

Thanks for a lovely stay - hope we will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablesb&b, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for that lovely review. It is always so very gratifying to have folk leave Picton, and indeed NZ, with good memories and having had a special holiday. We look forward to your return.
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are looking for something a little different this is definately worth considering.
The hosts can't do enough for you and come with thier own unique approach....ask about the muffin club!
Ian's advice on what to do in the area and beyond stood us in very good stead.
The room was comfortable and spacious.
A memorable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablesb&b, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi Cheryl,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We much enjoyed having you and Martin stay with us and we are delighted you have such good memories of New Zealand. Thank you again for your kind words.
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last year for part of our honeymoon and found it to be a really pleasant place. The owners even left us a small champagne bottle and chocolates to congratulate us on our marriage! The rooms are very homey and the owners are incredibly welcoming. We stayed later than planned the day we were leaving because we were having such a nice conversation with them! Food was very tasty, especially the muffins!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gablesb&b, Owner at The Gables, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Hi Annie,
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review for The Gables. We very much appreciate your sentiments and it is such warm response that makes what we do so very worthwhile.
Warm regards,
Ian and Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped one night here, arriving by ferry and before going south. The hosts are very welcoming, and helped us with suggestions for dinner. We had the small cottage, and had a quiet night. Breakfast was already in the fridge, so we could help ourselves as soon as we woke up. It was very nice. The room was nice and great bed. The bathroom is quite big, and the dining room is quite nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Most people only stop in Picton for a short hwile on their way between North & South Islands but I would recommend alonger stay as there are plenty of things to do in the area. Ian & Paula were the perfect hosts and made me feel welcome from the moment I arrived. The breakfasts were superb and I would strongly recommend the home made muffins which were given out each day. Ian was very knowledgeable on Picton and the surrounding are and recommended many places to visit

Room Tip: I stayed in the Pictonian Room.. At the side of the house so very quiet. Good ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed only one night in The Gables after arriving on the evening ferry from Wellington before catching the train to Christchurch the next afternoon - would have been nice to have stayed longer. We were given a warm welcome by Ian and Paula (and the family dog) and shown our room, then given advice on local restaurants. We met the other guests, an American couple who were very friendly and interesting. Dinner at Le Cafe was fine (great mussels) but the wine seemed very expensive. The wifi seemed a bit sluggish before dinner but worked very well after dinner and the room was very cosy with beautiful bedding.

At breakfast next morning there was a Happy Birthday banner in my honour, and we had a marvellous breakfast with lovely fruit & yoghurt and superb scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Then out came a muffin with candle for my birthday cake! A lovely touch. We were all also given muffins to take away with instructions to send photos of where and how they were consumed - there are plenty of muffin adventures to read about!

We had trouble getting packed up as my husband and Jack (the American) were fascinated by all the boating memorabilia and also had a guided tour of Ian's shed with his magnificent kayak (made by him). Ian and Paul offered to keep our luggage while we went to the station to get our tickets and looked at the Edwin Fox Museum (excellent), and we returned at 12. Ian then took all the bags for the four of us to the station while we walked. There were hugs all round when we left! A very warm and friendly home.

Room Tip: We had the Pictonian room which is the largest and beautiful with good ensuite, though all the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Landing after a rough crossing of the Coo Strait from Wellington, no better place to find ones legs than The Gables, three minutes drive from the ferry terminus, owned and run by Ian and Paula Allen. From the welcome, to the comfortable accommodation, the breakfasts and the muffins with which visitors are endowed each day for their forays, all was efficiently and warmly provided. Input as to local places to explore, how best to do it, what to see and how to plan ones days was tactfully and thoughfully provided. A good range of nationals use The Gables either on arrival or departure which gives a useful forum for exchanges on what is up and down in other parts of the S Island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables

Address: 20 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Gables reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.