We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort 101!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tombstone Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tombstone Backpackers to your Saves list
Tombstone Backpackers
16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfort 101!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lynn was an amazing hostess. I arrived the previous day to book and pay for a shared room @ $25 for the night. The room was clean as is in the photos - they do not lie! The facilities were very good and wi fi is available if you take your own lap top (there were also computers there for you to use!) I am used to staying in hotels, so this was a bit of a first for me. And I was delighted with the privacy as well (I am sure being winter, it was very quiet compared to the thick of summer). There were a couple of cool cats and an avery with quails, canaries and a love bird! If I was in Picton again, I would definitely book a room here. Thanks Lynn for your lovely hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
76
66
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in an ensuite room, it was like a hotel room for the price of a backpackers double ($75). Also the fascilities were great - spa, pool table, internet and several lounges with great chill out spaces. The place was really clean too. The BEST bit though was the breakfast, yummy hot cheese scones, just out of the oven! also ceral, toast...all you could want! the host are really friendly and helpful too :) highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Two friends, we stayed for a weekend to walk and relax in Picton and Marlborough. It was a rainy weekend so we spent some time indoors as well as walking and exploring. The hosts Lynn and Gordon were friendly and helpful. We were picked up from the ferry and given a lift to the ferry when we left. Tombstone backpackers is within easy walking distance of the main street. There are plenty of comfortable relaxing spaces at the backpackers The kitchen is spacious. Breakfast, tea, coffee, cereal, toast is included in tariff. Lynn also bakes cheese scones every morning. The backpackers is very clean and comfortable and a friendly environment. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Two friends, we stayed in a three bed room with ensuite on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stopped by for one night briefly on our way to Mountainbike the Queen Charlotte track. Arrived after midnight - hosts were very understanding and left directions out for us with keys to our room. Spacious hostel with loads of public areas, and decent sized rooms. Well located, space to park, a good recycling programme, and warm cheese scones in the morning... awesome.

One guy in our group said it was the cleanest hostel he'd ever stayed in... :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We didn't plan to stay one night in Picton, but we were very happy we did. Tombstone Backpackers is an excellent place, we enjoyed our stay so much and we wished we would have time to stay longer. The best hostel in 3 months of traveling.

Tombstone Backpackers has a very relaxing atmosphere, the rooms are some steps away from the kitchen and the lounges. This is why the rooms are very quite. Our room, toilets, showers, as well as the whole hostel were very clean.

The Tombstone Backpackers is up the hill, this is why you have a nice view. Bikes are free for rent and the best was the whirlpool in the garden. So much fun to jump in.

In the morning the owner gave us a ride (after an excellent breakfast) right to the Wellington ferry.
We are very grateful to the owner, who really takes care of her guests and due to whom we felt like home there!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mae Sot, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

This backpacker exceeded our expectations. the owners not only make delicious cheese scones in the morning and run a clean, spacious, relaxed backpacker, but they also drove us to the ferry and picked us up there a week later. We had an ensuite double which was modern and clean. We'd recommend this to anyone staying in Picton.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Wyalong, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Before I booked here I'd read a lot of reviews of the place, but I was still surprised at the high quality of the accommodation. All areas of this hostel feel new and clean. Our room was a double with an ensuite bathroom, and compared favourably with many hotels I've stayed in.

The common areas are great as well, with a well equipped kitchen, several coin operated computer terminals (and wifi access), a movie room, pool table and exercise equipment and a BBQ outside. Parking available (and the hosts even helped us recharge the battery on the rental car after my husband left the headlights on!), and about a 10 minute walk to the centre of town.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Picton hotels
0.5 mi away
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
Picton Yacht Club Hotel
#11 of 17 in Picton
3.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.5 mi away
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#4 of 21 in Picton
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 21 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tombstone Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tombstone Backpackers

Address: 16 Gravesend Place, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tombstone Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tombstone Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.