We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterways Boating Safaris

Waterways Boating Safaris
745 Kenepuru Road | RD 2, Picton 7282, New Zealand
+64 3-574 1372
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Drive a boat, explore the sounds. Fun, freedom & stunning scenery on a guided boating safari. Explore the sheltered waterways of the Marlborough Sounds whilst enjoying the thrill of driving your own boat. Learning to handle the boat is quick and easy for first-timers.We want to share the magic of the Marlborough Sounds with you. Take charge or or own boat and get the freedom to explore an area of unsurpassed beauty in an ever-changing landscape of native forest, ferns and hidden bays. Day tours include sightseeing, coastal walk, Jurassic forest, native birds and wildlife, mussel farms.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Water magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Awsome way to see the sound in a short time with great caracters along the way

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Whole trip was interesting, fun, a real experience!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best boat tour, well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We did the full day tour and it was amazing. A lot more interactive than any other tour since you are able to drive your own boat, which gives you a lot of independence. tour guide stops you occasionally to talk to you about interesting things you pass by. It's a family owned business and you can tell he's very knowledgeable about the area, and loves to receive questions from us. He also takes the time to personally chat with each boat, which is really nice. The owners were really great.

They also take you on a hike that's pretty exclusive, since you need to get there by boat, and it was beautiful.

overall, the day was really well planned out, we had a ton of fun, and there was not one bad thing about it. I would highly recommend it to everyone.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiristchurch
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Found this whilst browsing on Tripadvisor and so glad I did. It really is a superb way of exploring the Marlborough Sounds. I would go again tomorrow! At first I thought it was quite expensive but it was well worth the money and I would highly recommend it. The guide was interesting and knowledgeable and added to the enjoyment of the experience.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
1 review
“It was a GREAT sailing !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We took the half day tour. It was GREAT !!!
Lester did a great job - taking us around and explaining everything - from History to present and future. It was a REAL fun !!! We will definitely do it again !!!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waterways Boating Safaris also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Waterways Boating Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterways Boating Safaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.