We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out Of This World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Watch Ecotours

Dolphin Watch Ecotours
The Waterfront, London Quay, Picton 7220, New Zealand
+64 3-573 8040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 Activities in Picton
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide award-winning, conservation focused and scenic wildlife cruises through the beautiful Marlborough Sounds. Those looking for the thrill of a lifetime can join us for a Swim With Dolphins experience or our fully guided tours also explore Historic Ship Cove or Motuara Island Bird Sanctuary. A clean green paradise of bush and sea full of natural beauty, history and wildlife, all waiting to be explored and experienced with a Qualmark Enviro-Gold certified cruise operator.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Out Of This World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Where do I start. Lets go with the staff, fantastic right through from the office to the crew on board the boat. Very, very friendly & informative. The trip, we obviously hoped to see Dolphins, that was the purpose of the exercise, but when we came across a Pod of Orca's, it was like Christmas and birthdays rolled into one. We count ourselves blessed that we had the opportunity to observe these beautiful creatures for a full half hour, swimming around and under the boat, so close you could almost touch them. How marvellous to see them in the real world and not Sea World. We then moved on to the predator free bird sanctuary of Motuara and had the opportunity to take photo's of numerous species of birds. Back onto the boat, heading back to Picton, we sighted Hector Dolphins and Blue Penguins. As we approached Picton Harbour, swimming around, about 5 metres from the shore, there were approx. 40 Bottle Nosed Dolphins. Then just to finish such a memorable trip, we were invited back to the cruise office to have a talk on, and to see and touch, Kiwi's, prior to their release on Motuara. The whole experience was incredible with memories to last a lifetime. You must do this trip, hopefully you will be as lucky as we were..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    12
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Motuara island boat afternoon boat trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had an amazing afternoon which became the highlight of our trip to New Zealand. Not only did we see bottlenosed and rare hector dolphins but we saw seals, gannets, penguins, parakeets and black robins etc. Seeing the orca whales swimming round our boat so happy and free so different from the visitor attraction marine places was a real privilege. The crew of the naturetours boat from Picton were so enthusiastic and informative it only served to add to our growing excitement. Truly a most wonderful day and one I would sincerely recommend to animal and naturelovers.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely half day outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went to Motuara Island with 15 other passengers and a a crew of 2. The guide was excellent and the captain very accommodating. We saw a large number of birds on the water as well as seals and one dolphin. The dolphins were not around the day we went out to the island. At the island we walked around for an hour, took lots of photos and were served tea or coffee on the way back to Picton. The young guide was very knowledgeable and very patient. All in all a lovely experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Great Afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I took the half day Motuara Island Cruise. The trip was one of the top highlights of my trip to New Zealand. You could tell immediately that it was going to be a fun trip. The guides were fantastic. They were very knowledgeable of the area and it's wildlife. The boat was a good size for the number of people on board. It allowed for safe movement and good viewing of sea life from the boat for everyone. Viewing and photography opportunities were frequent for both sea life and birds. A great afternoon.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous trip for nature lovers and bird watchers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We did the boat trip to Motueka Island which we really enjoyed. We saw a huge number of NZ's very special birds including a king shag. We also saw seals and dolphins including the rare Hectors Dohins.The guide was excellent and whilst on the island you had the choice of walking up to the top or staying by the small water hole. Keen photographers should opt for the latter as those in our party got some superb close up shots. The boat was very comfortable with plenty of space and stocked with lots of information on the birds and wildlife. If you are in Picton or the surrounding area it is a great way to spend half a day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Watch Ecotours also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Picton, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Dolphin Watch Ecotours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Watch Ecotours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.