We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jugglers Rest Backpackers to your Saves list
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy, friendly and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The weather was horrendous during our stay, but the cosy log fire and the friendly atmosphere made this place extremely memorable. Everyone was sharing food they'd cooked/bought as well as travel experiences and skills ( mostly circus related!). The hostel has a real homely and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
46
70
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Picton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed here having been travelled through Picton many times without stopping for more than a coffee. We are so glad we chose Jugglers Rest. We looked at the reviews posted on Trip Advisor and we can now see what all the fuss is about! It is without a doubt the cleanest and best run hostel we have come across in ten years of travelling. As soon as we walked in the gate we felt at home, an oasis of calm in an otherwise crazy world. The hosts, Nikki and Bruce, simply could not have been more welcoming and were fountains of information on local activities and tracks. We choose the smallest hostels we can as it usually gives us a chance to talk to the owners to find out about the lesser known attractions. Even an hour on the internet searching for local activities did not turn up nearly some many things to do as one ten minute chat with Nikki did. Jugglers Rest is in our view the perfect small hostel. A heritage listed building that oozes charm, beautiful gardens and hosts that do this for the love of it, not just for the money. We have worked in a number of hostels over the years and they could all learn about what a CLEAN hostel is from this one. Given the facilities offered and the knowledge of the owner we would also rate this as the best value for money accommodation we have ever stayed in. If you want to be experience what all hostels should be like then you simply must stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

The Jugglers Rest is a welcoming home for any traveler. As soon as arrive you are greeted and introduced to the other guests by the owner and made to feel at home in their cosy living room.
The place is very clean the beds are super comfy with lovely warm blankets and the showers were hot.
A lovely courtyard and garden with an array of juggling toys to learn and play with plus shows to entertain you in the evening.
This is the second time I have stayed here and I could not recommend it highly enough in fact it has been my favourite backpackers in NZ.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The place was very dirty and badly treated. The showers either too hot or too cold, the owner isn't very stable and will treat you like you owe her something. However, the juggling is pretty cool. The other bbh hostel in town is more recommended

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

The atmosphere at this hostel was amazing. The wood fire, home cooking (fresh bread for breakfast) and bath was exceptional and felt like a retreat. Also a great place for circus performers as the owners have been in the performance business for many years and the juggling balls, poi and hula hoops defiantly came out. You definitely can't beat this place for value, friendliness and the showers are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was recommended this place by a performer friend and as a performer myself had an absolutely fantastic time here. We felt very welcome and it was very homely with plenty of circus toys to play with and practice with (they even have workshops occasionally)! The kitchen facilities are great, beautiful garden, nice rooms and you even get knitted wool socks to wear are the house. I will definitely be back again next time I'm in town. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Already when you enter the courtyard you realize that you've arrived at a place that is loved by it's owner. And as good as she treats her hostel/home she treats her guests and thus creates a very homely atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.5 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 21 in Picton
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 21 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#4 of 21 in Picton
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantis Backpackers
Atlantis Backpackers
#12 of 21 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jugglers Rest Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.