We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, homely, colourful, friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jugglers Rest Backpackers to your Saves list
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
“Wonderful, homely, colourful, friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

What a beautiful place! Such friendly service! Homely shared living room and cosy bedrooms. Feels like you're in paradise nestled into the lush green valley. Exciting FREE fire and circus shows. excellent facilities that are kept immaculate. Yummy warm fire place. This place is vibrant and buzzing with activity but still remains a welcoming, relaxing place to be. I recommend this 100%!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
41
60
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

One of the most beautiful spaces I've had the pleasure of spending time in. Beautiful owner and amazing friendly knowledgeable managers who are always there to help. I look forward to staying there on every trip I have through Picton. This place breeds creativity and activity while still being homely, such a great combination.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

It's such a beautiful and homely atmosphere... Plenty of space to play & spin toys, poi, staff, hoop, juggle, slack-line, or just do yoga out on the spacious stone yard. Or have elderflower cordial out on the beautiful wooden deck, surrounded in greenery, vines and flowers... Cozy and clean rooms with fabulous crocheted socks guaranteed... Delicious free-range eggs and home-made jams on freshly baked bread every morning for just a tiny cost... Juggler's Rest is just a few meters away from a river and a nice swimming hole, and bushes to walk all around... This fantastic place with fantastic hosts, Nikki and Bruce, is not to be missed on your Marlborough journeys...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Myself an my fiancé were initially going to stay here for one day but thanks to our superb hosts of Bruce and Nikki, we stayed for three. Even upon arrival, Bruce is one of the kindest and most hilarious guys we've come across in NZ, and even upgraded us straight away for no additional cost! Legend! He also told us about a few discounts including the trip to beautiful Lochmara Bay, so had it not been for his insight, we would not have known about it. He's also got a cracking kilt!!

Very homely feel to it all. There's wonders in every corner of the hostel from the comfy couches down to the juggling balls if you want to have a go! No TV, but you don't come to South Island to watch soaps!

Free bike and kayak use available as well as stunning homemade bread and jam as an additional cost worth every penny on top of complimentary cups of tea / coffee.

We cannot say enough good words about this hostel. You have to experience it to believe how good this really is! Beats any hotel I've stayed in too!

On our way back north, we WILL be back!! Thank you so much Brice and Nikki, you deserve your award (recently voted best hostel in NZ 2013 I think it was, top 10% in the WORLD!! Wow!!)

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As a performer, I stay at Jugglers Rest every opportunity I get. It's one of the most unique and beautiful places to stay that I have ever had the pleasure of finding. The atmosphere is relaxed and creative, and I feel like this is my home away from home. The food is also delicious, and I find the environment perfect for hosting workshops. Nikki is also one of the warmest, most inviting and lovely people I have ever met. She obviously cares a lot about creating something truly beautiful and that love really shines through.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Such a beautiful place! We've travelled all around the South Island, have been in many Hostels, but nothing compares to Jugglers Rest. It fells like home from the first moment, a great atmosphere, a wonderful warm feeling and Nikki... we loved you from the start! It was so nice to meet you and Bruce, thanks for your help and being such a great person!
...ah, and the breakfast, the homemade bread and jams, the grounded coffee... yummy!! don't need to tell more about it :) kisses & hugs, Nuri & Johannes

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Such a warm friendly place- Nikki has created a welcoming and unique space, which is full of lovely touches including knitted slippers, hammocks on the deck, homemade bread and preserves. The building and rooms themselves are beautiful and spacious, but even better than that is sense of coming 'home'- really looking forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jugglers Rest Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.