We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite hostels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jugglers Rest Backpackers to your Saves list
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of my favourite hostels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights just before New Years. The bedroom was great (we had a double in one of the chalets), comfy and clean; the kitchen was well equipped, spacious enough for a few people cooking and clean; bathrooms were clean; the lounge area and the outdoor areas were great places to chill. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The car park was free. Location wise the hostel is around a 10 minute walk to the town centre. The vibe around this hostel was extremely fun and relaxed. The juggling / poi at night was really entertaining. I wish I remembered to write down the music that was playing - perhaps it could be written in a reply to this? The hostel manager also took us on a free hike up through the forest/hill to see the glow worms which were really spectacular. This is now one of my favourite hostels.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
41
60
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I just spent a week at the jugglers rest and can honestly say it is my favourate backpackers in New Zealand. I instantly felt at home in the relaxed atmosphere and it didn't take long to see why so many people are drawn back to the place. Nikki was so welcoming and went out of her way to accomodate everyone, Bruce was so friendly and kept me laughing all week! I was lucky enough to be there when all the juggling crew were there and they were all so happy to teach me new juggling skills. They have all the juggling toys you can hope to play with and i came away feeling like i had really learnt something. The homemade bread and jams are delicious, the beds are so comfortable, the front porch is beautiful and the fire juggling is awesome! I know its a place I will always come back to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hostel would be one of my favorites in NZ. Small friendly hostel with lots of charm. Rooms were great as were the communal areas. Even though it was full when my 12 year old and I stayed it was quiet.
Loved the guys practicing their street performance in the front yard while dodging the cat who owns the place.
Would definitely recommend even for those who have never experienced a hostel before.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ziqim, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Juggler's is everything we expect from a backpackers lodge: clean, friendly, homey, small and informative.

The place is small (Less than 20 beds, to my estimation) so it's not too crowded and it's quiet at nights even for rooms near the shared spaces.

The place offers exquisite breakfast - freshly baked bread, home-made jams, butter and fresh coffee for the ridiculously low price of $4. Too bad we had some eggs with us - the place sells free range eggs for $0.5 each. The jam (local, organic) is also for sale.

The kitchen is large and well-equipped.

We took a double room with shared bathrooms. We didn't expect much, but the bathrooms were extra-clean, large, and didn't feel any different from private rooms we had elsewhere.

The staff is real information bonanza - they're friendly, experienced, informative and nice. They helped us a lot with planning nearby treks (Abel Tasman and Queen Charlotte).

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. One the best lodges we've ever been to.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to take the rooms with the shared bathrooms - they are sterile-clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We landed in this cosy place after a very tough trip in the ferry.
We decided to rest for some days and this was the right place!
Nice room, with a warm bed, wool socks provided, nice living room and a well provided kitchen to cook!
Atmosphere is really friendly and staff is really helpful and nice.
You really feel like home! Plus you can try to juggle and it's really funny!
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Slept only 2 nights here, but we loved every moment of it. The hosts (Nikki an Bruce) were very friendly, and welcoming and a matter-of-course. Unlike other backpackers, the undisturbed peace and calm is the main character of this place. As the owners live there as well, the kitchen is equipped accordingly, even home made bread and jam are available in the morning, and if you are lucky, you can enjoy a juggler show, when it is getting dark.

We will definitely stay here, when we visit Picton again. One of the best backpacker in the South Island.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Home baked bread & jams for breakfast, late night trip into the hills to see glow worms, spotless, exceptionally friendly, welcome advice on what to do and see.. Has a couple of family rooms. The building is full of character - one of Picton's first. Really enjoyed our stay. Thanks Nicky & Co.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jugglers Rest Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.