We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jugglers Rest Backpackers to your Saves list
Jugglers Rest Backpackers
8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Definitely the most cosy hostel during my half year trip! Just nice to hang out on the deck and eat grapes or play with the plentiful toys. Fresh home made bread and jam in the morning and sometimes a fire show in the evening. Always nice people around and always a very good atmosphere. I stayed in most rooms and in my tent in the beautiful garden (came back here 4-5 times) and all accommodation is absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
46
70
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Jugglers Rest was most definitely a highlight of my New Zealand trip! I felt totally comfortable and at home before I had even walked through the door(of the awesome heritage building!). Nikki, the owner was fabulous and very kind. She was totally accommodating and helpful. With so many different circus toys to play with, there was never a dull moment, rain or shine! Yet, it was still a place that I could relax at, outside on the porch or inside by the fire.

Room Tip: Small dorm rooms, basically private!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you want to feel like at home you can spend the nigh here. The rooms and all the facilities are very very very confortable and cozy. Very well personalized by the owner. Enjoy that!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

I only stayed one night at this hostel but I could have stayed longer. It was so lovely, cosy and comfortable, more like staying in a friend's house and less like staying in a hostel. The hostess was tremendous as well. She offered breakfast in the morning that included homemade bread and jam. Overall, the hostel was a great place to hangout and relax and meet people.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
listowel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was undoubtedly the cosiest hostel I've ever stayed in! No bunk beds & a very homely feel made for an extremely pleasant stay. The little hand-knit booties left on each of our beds, and the option of home-made bread for breakfast were a lovely touch! Would highly recommend this gem to anybody looking to stop off at Picton:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Loved this cosy hostel (had an open fire) - Great atmosphere and Nicky was so helpful and friendly. Didn't feel like a hostel at all, had a lot of character and personality. Very near to town centre. Would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Just returned to North Island from a trip around South Island and discovered this restful place in Picton. As retired travellers we had decided to make our fund go further to stay in backacker accommodation and by and large this worked well, but the accommodation on offer was varied to say the least. However the Jugglers Rest was undoubtedly one of the best we stayed in. It was really clean and comfortable, and the added bonus was the quirky nature of the hostel. Only a few minutes walk from the town with all amenities. Definitely somewhere to out on your list. Denise Campbell

Room Tip: We had the blue room, extremely comfortable, althugh garden accommodation looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Picton
0.5 mi away
Tombstone Backpackers
Tombstone Backpackers
#2 of 21 in Picton
5.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Villa Backpackers Lodge
0.6 mi away
The Fat Cod Backpackers
The Fat Cod Backpackers
#11 of 21 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Motel Picton
0.2 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#4 of 21 in Picton
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Atlantis Backpackers
Atlantis Backpackers
#12 of 21 in Picton
4.0 of 5 stars 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jugglers Rest Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jugglers Rest Backpackers

Address: 8 Canterbury Street, Picton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jugglers Rest Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jugglers Rest Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.