We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview Backpackers

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Picton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayview Backpackers
Save
You added Bayview Backpackers to your Saves list
318 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
East London/Essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Little disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Although Stephanie the host was really helpful and lovely, we were a bit disappointed at the age of the interior and the dust - sounds harsh but we had to sleep with towels over our pillows as we woke each morning coughing and sneezing. The location we thought we were getting was a direct bay view but in fact there is a row of houses in-between. The building needs updating and so too do the facilities. But as I said, Stephanie made it a better than it was.

Room Tip: We had the double room which looked out of the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

awesome host just so relaxed best holiday ever thanks Stephanie
You made our escape from Christchurch earthquakes so memorable and shared an awesome new years day thanks thanks thanks a true Gem

Room Tip: double would be awesome giant bed in room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

worth travelling that bit out of Picton for a very comfortable stay with fabulous views and facilities. Steph is very dedicated to provide a clean environment that fits your needs, and makes you very welcome, even when you arrive soaking wet! The communal areas are spacious and well equiped, as is the kitchen which offers great views over the bay. Plenty of parking and only a short trip into Picton.Well priced, a must in any trip. Will def stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Made us really welcome, felt like a home rather than just a place to stay. Great atmosphere with lots of interesting people to talk to. Picton itself is a wonderful location to explore the Marlborough Sound, which is a marvellous introduction to the South Island. The walking tracks like the Queen Charlotte Trail is nearby and the wildlife in and around the Sound is very special. The lady in charge is a constant source of information and help. Would definately stay there again. Mike & Judy

Room Tip: Good room at front with balcony & view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Run by a very nice lady this lovely little homely place is outside of town but just around the corner from a stunning bay that shows all Picton is about. With a warm fire and good facilities, there are canoes or just books depending on your needs - clean, tidy and well priced - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night passing through from Wellington to Christchurch and how we wish we'd been able to stay a little longer! We loved the facilities and felt well looked after.

We visited Bayview in the winter and there weren't many people about, which suited us just fine. But I imagine in the summer there would be much more of a communal atmosphere.

Can't wait to return in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I've been to New Zealand several times and the relaxing atmosphere at Bayview is great. The views are outstanding and the rooms are clean and cozy. Daily fresh bread and walking distance to a great swimming beach. The host is very hospitable and does a great job keeping you entertained and informed of endless activities. Scuba, fishing, bike riding, tramping, kayaking, sailing, wine tasting and more. Thanks for the great memories. I'll be back.

Ken

Room Tip: Always good to call ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview Backpackers

Address: 318 Waikawa Road, Picton 7220, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Picton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Picton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview is a small backpackers with a homely feel. Free kayaks for the bay, and a free 20MB wi-fi voucher for each guest. 4km outside Picton so you need a car, but some pick ups are available, call to arrange. There are waterfront restaurants at the marina and a beach just 10 mins walk. Beds are all made up, homemade bread around 5pm and free tea & coffee and best of all fantastic balcony views!Dorms, doubles, twins, en suite (with a great view!) and a self contained apartment with kitchen, bathroom and your own deck and view of the bay....Come and enjoy the view. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.